We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wait until renovations are completed”

St. Patrick's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
NYC Highlights Small-Group Tour
Ranked #17 of 1,080 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enormous 13th-century-style Gothic church on Madison Avenue, with a seating capacity of 2,200, rose window reaching 26 feet across, pipe organ with more than 7,380 pipes and the graceful twin spires that reach 330 feet into the sky.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wait until renovations are completed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We could sense that there must be a beautiful church under there somewhere - but with scaffolding covering the exterior and most of the interior as well, it is not worth the stop right now. The few side chapels and interesting bits are crowded with people trying to find something of interest to look at. Even the front steps were flooded with water, hoses, and workers, and people were jostling to get around the water and each other - we will try St. Patrick's again next trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,904
    2,166
    465
    55
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, TN
Level Contributor
302 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral -- feels like you're in Europe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a lovely cathedral, and we were surprised to see that t is currently covered with scaffolding. See, that alone reminds me of European cathedrals! It is a lovely haven in the middle on Manhattan. The cathedral is huge and we enjoyed the large number of beautiful artworks. Well worth a visit when in Manhattan. Afterwards, walk down Madison Avenue for some serious shopping.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Take a breath, take it all in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Every Christmas I rebel from Las Vegas to NYC to visit my brother. Every Christmas I make the time to visit this beautiful and reverent monument; regardless of the renovations, the experience is what I leave with.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank louiefrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,604 reviews
1,222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

While I was still disappointed that the exterior is completely covered in scaffolding and panhandlers frequent the front stairs, I was happy that early on a Saturday morning this beautiful place was practically empty. This allowed me to take in the atmosphere and enjoy the experience. I lucked out that they were just finishing morning Mass and got to hear lovely music echo through the apse and nave. I would love to go for Mass one time, but I fear it will be too chaotic....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“So Beautiful, But Mostly Under Tarps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We just happened to visit while the beautiful cathedral was under major restoration. I understand it is necessary, it was just a shame because you really could not see much of the stonework outside and much of the inside was behind tarps or blocked with scaffolding. Despite, you could still feel peaceful and tranquil atmosphere and we are glad we got to see it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Patrick's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Patrick's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing