We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
NYC Harlem and Gospel Tour by Bus
Ranked #49 of 1,098 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This cathedral, the world's largest, is entirely hand-crafted.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Majestic”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a really great site to see. Even if your not religious or if you are religious and not Episcopalian it was a really amazing building. The ceiling is incredibly tall so when you walk in you really feel grounded. There is so much detail to so many parts of the structures, art shows, statues and a great garden.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    368
    85
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
267 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is one of the largest ecclesiastical buildings in the world. Although it's not actually finished yet, it's a magnificent space and well-worth going off the main tourist route in order to get there. Make sure you visit all the side chapels at the East end. Better still, try to attend one if the services to experience the wonderful organ and the vastly reverberant acoustic. Fabulous!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous - but a little unsettling”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Definitely worth checking out if you love architecture or churches. It's a bit out of the way but a very beautiful church. It is so big I couldn't fit the entire exterior of the building into one picture. The stainglass was inspiring. The unsettling part was that I was taken a little aback b/c of the art pieces I was not expecting. I came late so I didn't get the tour so I don't know what much of it meant, but hey to each his own.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Magnificent Structure”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited this Cathedral this weekend and it was truly magnificent. Forget that we have this so close to home.The suggested donation is $10.00 but they will be happy to receive any kind of a donation. I noticed many people giving $5.00, but it is well worth the $10.00. It will take about 45 minutes to go through the whole Cathedral stopping to take pictures of course. Once you are done , a MUST is to visit the garden next door, closer to 110th Street and see he Noah's Ark Fountain. While overgrown and not well cared for it is still a beauty to behold. I enjoyed my visit and will go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeP2794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wow, this church is impressive. A must see while in NYC. The statue next to the church is also interesting. I love to see old churches and this one was really neat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank etzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing