We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic meal ”
Review of Braai

Braai
Ranked #4,024 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street and 8th Avenue.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great romantic meal ”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

One if the better meals I had while in NYC. I had the steak and veggies while my husband had the lamb. We both enjoyed our meals. The setting was not too loud, and candlelit. I would return here if I lived in NYC.

Helpful?
Thank Gottaseeitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    35
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

As a lover of African food, I was thrilled to try this South African restaurant in mid-town. The food was deliciously prepared, interesting and the restaurant layout itself was trendy and fun. I recommend and will return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jtrooney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent find for something different - African”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A charming South African restaurant in what looks like a large, renovated wine cellar near Hell's Kitchen. You'll find excellent food at a reasonable price. I had the Lamb Bunny Chow - a curry rubbed lamb stew served in a sourdough bowl. It was awesome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific "Social Lunch"”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous lunch there yesterday: pureed broccoli soup, grilled salmon with delicious fresh veggies, and Malva "pudding" (actually a yummy moist cake like a better version of gulab jamun) with gelato for only $12.50!!!

Hope to return tomorrow!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have lived in South Africa so i got really exited to have biltong in NYC.
We loved the lamb ribs, the avocado lobster salad and the apricot cake desert!
We also highly enjoyed the cocktails , candlelight and music .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braai also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Braai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing