We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful neighborhood restaurant”

Gallo Nero Wine Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Gallo Nero Wine Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,281 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 9th Avenue
Transit: A, C & E trains to 42nd Street/Port Authority.
Description: Gallo Nero is the new hidden gem of Hell's Kitchen. Located on 44th Street, between 9th & 10th Avenues, Gallo Nero has the great promise of becoming a new breed of tratoria with an exceptional wine selection. It's rustic feel is in tune with the wine and the friendly service only makes the place a very lovely spot, perfect for romantic dinners all the way to friendly reunions. The menu consists of a variety of items that are made to compliment every kind of taste, starting with cold cuts, Crostini, Bruschetta and cheese selections, all the way to Lamb Shank, Gnocchi and Panini. To top it all off the wines are picked from the special small vineyards in Italy, bringing a unique flavor to the area that will turn anyone into a wine lover.
nashville, tn
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I just happened upon this quaint restaurant and we couldn't be happier. It is small and located in a quiet neighborhood near the theater district. We were able to get a table immediately and the staff was friendly and efficient. The ceasar salad was excellent and the entrees were reasonable and delicious. The atmosphere was wonderfully New York and not at all touristy. If you want to get away from the chain restaurants and gimmicks of Times Square...this is your place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katNashville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    68
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found this wonderful little restaurant by looking on Google maps. There are maybe 10 tables in the restaurant and, on the night we were there, they had opened up the doors and windows so it was perfect. We split the house salad, my mom got a chicken dish with arugula and I got the linguini with clam sauce. Both of them were incredible. So fresh and tasty. We ordered the tiramisu to go and it was so good also. This is definitely a must for anyone wanting a great dining experience in NYC thats not over priced and swarming with tourists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hahwee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great liitle italian restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

At with my wife recently before a play. The restaurant is very nice inside ,in a quiet residential neighborhood.The wine list was extensive and fairly priced. The service was effecient and the food was great. The prices were very reasonable epecially for the city. Would definately return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice little Italian bistro”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great service and well executed Italian standards. Fun but loud atmosphere. Just far enough from the theatre district to be relaxing but only a long block away from the shows. They did accidentally overcharge for my wine but corrected the error. Vary attentive to our pre-show timing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAugustWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Was in the city for just a few hours, and my niece took us here. One of her favorite neighborhood places for a good, reliable meal, and it passed our test of authentic Italian food. Would go back in a heartbeat! (Don't miss the meatballs.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unirhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Nero Wine Bar and Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gallo Nero Wine Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing