We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Scenic Harbors”
Review of New York Harbor

New York Harbor
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
New York City Harbor Lights Sail
More Info
$38.99*
and up
Circle Line: Harbor Lights Night Cruise
More Info
$99.65*
and up
Spirit of New York Dinner Cruise with Buffet
Ranked #173 of 1,117 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middletown, New York
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“One of the Best Scenic Harbors”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

There are several ways to see this beautiful harbor. One of the greatest views is from the Staten Island Ferry. Both the departure from Lower Manhattan and the approach to Lower Manhattan are fantastic. Another great view is from the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Try looking over from the Brooklyn shore. Of course, the Verrazano Bridge has a great view of the Upper and Lower New York Bay.
The views from Battery Park across the Harbor towards New Jersey, Staten Island, and Brooklyn are are great. A walk along the Lower and East and West Sides of Manhattan are also fantastic.
There are several excursion boats and tours that sail the Harbor.
Do not miss the views of the Harbor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    69
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“NYC at night”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We, a party of 4, booked our dine & cruise with World Yacht from pier 81, on our last night in NYC prior to going up to New England & Canada the next day on NCL Gem.
We had booked the Gold package with a guarenteed window table, but the view of NYC at dusk was magical and ave us another view of the city, having been up both the Empire State & Rockerfeller buildings. The food on board was of the highest quality & our waitress for the night was really good fun.
Sailing down the Hudson at night is really special and seeing the Statue of Liberty was relly spectacular, the floodlights showing off her best features, and going under the Brooklyn bridge was really cool.
All in all a perfect finish to a great 4 days in NYC.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Stu042Bury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very Neat”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A true new York city experience. Smell the fish that were caught today and watch the hustle of the coolest city in the world. You can imagine back in the day why this city was becoming what it is today. Very neat and a must do on your travels in NYC.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Well worth a trip and you can also see the museum that is inside an old aircraft carrier, complete with space Shuttle. Piers and walkways with the Backdrop of NYC finance district.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gray Line by day and Skyline by Night”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Part of our Gray Line Bus attractions was the harbor cruise at Pier 78. This is well worth the time and effort to do or on any harbor cruise group. Hearing about all the areas during the day helped to make the cruise more enjoyable because we had been there and our tour guide giving commentary was great I believe his name may have been Tony. Beautiful at night and breath taking. The STatue is amazing at night too as we get close but you don't get off the boat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CheryllynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Harbor also viewed

 

Been to New York Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing