We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was pretty impressed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West 57th Street by Hilton Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
Ranked #64 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was pretty impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Ok so, having stayed all over New York one of the things I noticed right away was that this is more of a smaller, boutique type hotel - feels like you're walking into a luxury, modern apartment building. I have stayed in the other Hiltons in NYC and they have a lot more people running around everywhere. I really liked the feeling I got when I walked in. The staff was personable and very friendly. I don't know where the one reviewer is from from who said the staff was rude but for me and my hubby we found that they bent over backwards for us and all the girls at the front desk were really nice. The rooms are very cool. Hardwood flooring, king beds in every room, coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck coffee, and mini fridge to keep wine and food (we went out and got out own at the wine store on 7th ave between 54-55th st). The rooms are so much bigger than a typical NYC hotel room - I mean, you dont walk in and feel like you're in a suite but IF you ARE truly familiar with how small NYC rooms can be (like the rooms at the W hotel) - you will feel that these are really a nice size. The location is really a gem. 2 blocks from ventral park south where all the horse and carriages line up, 1 block from 5th ave Bergdorfs... on the same block as Carnige hall and the Russian tea room. and Broadway theaters are a 10 minute stroll up the street. One note is that there are 2 elevators in the hotel and at peak times during the morning or evening when a lot of people are coming and going there can be a bit of a wait for them. we learned to be patient but it wasnt a bother compared to hte Hilton New York on 6th. what a nightmare - 12 elevators and you get all confused because certain ones only go to certain floors. they even put of muffins and lemonade in the lobby for you to nibble on as you arrive. It's neat to have stayed in a "brand hotel" that had a signature style and really felt welcoming - like you are a resident not a number. One thing I was surprised to learn is that people can actually own weeks of time there every year. like a timeshare but different and its a deed you get that passes on to the kids. I cant afford to own it but if I could I think i couldnt see why I wouldnt. I mean, it's NYC right? Also this place was immaculately clean. Everything was BRAND new. we paid 425.00/per night plus tax and although the price was higher than the deals I could have gotten at a cheaper, less nice hotel, I would pay this again because it was worth it to feel pampered and in an "experience" type property. I felt like a new yorker, a local..and that was priceless. Life is too short! oh the spa was NICE! got a 1 hr massage and a pedicure. my feet were so soft.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaSweetiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    344
    97
    46
    20
See reviews for
292
718
75
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

The room is very clean and new. The location's good. I was hooked up by the fact that the building was new but I truly regret staying there. Staffs are rude, incompetent and don't afraid to lie to avoid issues. It's best avoiding contacts with staffs if possible. If you find a problem with the room that they cannot diagnose nor solve, and they are lying that it's you and all other guests are fine with it, don't assume that they are sincerely thinking so. Just keep asking to fix it. I gave a benefit of doubt and had to unnecessarily suffer. You'll find out that it's not you and there really is a problem. I've never seen high level mangers not willing to take responsibility and trying to blame lower level staffs like in this property. The only explanation I can think of is that this one is technically not a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

The studio room we had was beautiful and huge for New York. The staff were all incredibly nice. The location was fantastic, just two blocks from Central Park and literally steps from the subway. This property was a short walk to great restaurants, 5th Avenue and even Broadway and Times Square. The staff kept hot cider in the lobby which was nice on the coldest weekend of the season. The property had free wireless internet with great connectivity speed. In short, in some respects, it goes beyond good to great.

On the other hand, we had, at best, luke warm water for the shower. When we got back to the room after enduring some of NYC's coldest, we wanted a hot shower. The following morning, we had no hot water at all. At night, the "heater" blew cool air all night long directed at the bed. When I complained, I got a "I'm so sorry" from the friendly yet clueless desk clerk and nothing was done. The concierge staff, while very friendly, were also not accurate with directions and subway transfers. The "business center" consisted of just two computers with only one of those hooked up to a printer.

The property is new and probably ironing out some kinks. It is a high end timeshare instead of a hotel so perhaps when we declined to purchase, attending to our complaints wasn't a priority. While I recommend the place on location alone, there are some issues that need addressed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

Arrived on parade day, never driven in NYC, was greeted at the door and left the keys with the bell guys -perfect. Check in was good, our room was ready and we were taken there-very efficient Had no problem with the front of house guys..
Had booked this through the HGVC exchange-again no problems here.Room was great-we had a 1 bedroom unit - kids very very impressed. Not as big as Orlando or the likes, no kitchen area but if we needed anything we could go the lounge and pick up coffee etc The room was very contemporary, some of the detailing was a bit messy but overall a great room. Comfortable beds, fab bathroom, large shower, wooden floors, computer desk - UK elec sockets (nice touch). We were at the front of the hotel so was a bit noisy - but thats what you come to NYC for. Had a terrace which was amazing.

The location is great, agree that the signage of the hotel could be better - very narrow frontage and you could easily miss it. The sales centre a couple of doors up is easier to find.!! Actually stopped in there first.

The main problem with this place is the Owners Lounge - very busy at breakfast and at the managers reception time and way too few chairs etc.

Beverage manager, Julie was top. She pointed us in the direction of good restaurants and could organise food if you needed it. Could use a good bar / dining area in house.

We stayed here 5 nights and had an early flight in the morning so got our car organised through the hotel. Too early - the trip did not take a 1/2hr. But hey.

Overall I would stay here again, we swapped our HGVC points so if I look at it from a financial point of view it was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ford maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

This is a new building in a great location. Close to subways and nice restaurants/ shopping. The staff is great. We purchased a membership and so far have stayed in two types of rooms. A studio with a beautiful balcony and a suite w a separate living room. The bathrooms are "trendy" and at first we thought it was going to be a little too sexy but they're beautiful and after a while we fell in love with the design.We recently upgraded our membership after staying a few times & next visit we'll be staying in the Penthouse! We come here four times a year for conferences & through our membership when we need additional rooms we get a reduced rate in the same building making it easy for my own staff & company to conduct business.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longislandinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

We are HGVC owners and bought a 3 night package at a favorable price. The catch was, we had to do a "review" of our ownership - basically a timeshare sales pitch. We didn't mind the sales pitch but didn't buy.

We arrived on a busy NY December day with horrendous traffic in midtown. The NY police had a lot of the intersections closed and it was difficult to get there. The signage outside the building is very low key so it is hard to find the building, so look out for it!

We entered the lobby and there were three reception attendants at their desks. Could any of them even look up and ask to help us? No! Hello, hello, we're here to check in! Can you please help us??? Finally a very uninspired man took time from his busy task of doing nothing and agreed to help us. No welcome, no hello, no "have a good stay," no "is there anything I/we can do for you. NOTHING! I am sorry to have disturbed you from your important, exalted position to help peons like my wife and I, but you certainly didn't make HGVC owners seem "home" or welcome. You do get paid to do this job, don't you??At least he agreed to help us, the other two ladies "working" their stations couldn't even bother to look up to help us either. Maybe it's just the New York attitude, but you ain't selling expensive timeshares with these people as your first line of offense.

Once checked in we were helped to our room by a wonderful man who brought our bags up and parked our car. He offered to bring additional pillows or towels and asked if there was anything else he could do. He was the complete opposite of the front desk staff.

The room was new, clean and modern. Very nicely furnished. The shower was perplexing to say the least. My wife and I probably fit the HGVC "profile" to a tee and the design of this feature is not for this target group, or anybody to say the least. I won't go into detail as others have described it. I work in the design profession and have a degree in a related architectural field so I get the concept. But this is architecture gone bad, especially for HGVC. The long and short of it is, the moveable screen doesn't completely cover the shower or the bathroom area. You can also view into the bathroom area from the hallway/front door area. The bottom line is this, people want their privacy and this doesn't do it! You can also get a total view into the bathroom via the large gaps which afford a full view of the mirror AND THE ENTIRE BATHROOM. I don't want to see my wife (or anyone else) sitting on the toilet doing their business, nor do I want them to see me, this needs to be fixed!

Onto the good stuff, the room was nice, bright, clean and quiet. The houskeeping staff was friendly and did a good job. The location was wonderful and was within walking distance of many attractions. We walked to Times Square, Rock Center, Upper East Side, Upper West Side, up to the Guggenheim and through Central Park. It was close to subway stops and a quick ride downtown.

All in all, a nice room with a problem that needs to be fixed in a great location. The front desk staff needs to be removed or re-retrained. Loose the attitudes people.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

Like several others have noted, this hotel is new, in a PERFECT location and has beautiful, spacious rooms. The property is very nice and the staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. The location is right in the heart of Manhattan at 57th & 6th, with everything you need at your doorstep. The F train stops around the corner, Carnegie Hall is on the same block and hundreds of restaurants, bars,shops, theatres and Central Park are within a several block radius.

Similar to the problems other reviewers have noted, I have been experiencing a MAJOR hassle getting my Hilton Honors points. I booked the triple promotion rate for two rooms. Not only was I given credit for only one of the two rooms, but the triple points were not credited to my account. Even more annoying, the rate went up by $70 for the last two nights of the stay, but the hotel based my points off the first night's lower rate. Hilton Diamond desk did not have a record of the Triple Honors points rate in their computer, even though it's clearly marked on my folio and confirmation email. I'm now having to open a claim and fax my receipt to Hilton Honors investigators. What a hassle. It seems like this is some sort of scam the hotel is running to not give full points. For a difference of more than 80,000 points, you can bet I'm willing to work a bit for them.

For non-point collectors - this hotel is a dream.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ioWAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West 57th Street by Hilton Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West 57th Street by Hilton Club

Property: West 57th Street by Hilton Club
Address: 102 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-3302
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — West 57th Street by Hilton Club 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West 57th Street by Hilton Club is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan's prestigious Plaza District between 6th and 7th Avenues, West 57th Street by Hilton Club is close to New York's most notable treasures. Studio rooms set a new standard for elegance, function, and comfort with floor-to-ceiling glass offering sweeping city views, flooring gracefully appointed with the look and feel of wood and bedding and furniture designed to soften and soothe. One-bedroom suites are consistent with West 57th's unique style offering spectacular city panoramas through the floor-to-ceiling glass and unobstructed views from the living room through the bedroom and into the master bath highlighting the open space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your West 57th Street by Hilton Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West 57th Street By Hilton Club Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing