We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
Ranked #51 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

West 57th in NYC has fantastic accomodations which are complimented by the wonderful staff at this resort. Its worth the travel and cost for such a wonderful time in NYC. From our bedroom window we could see the Empire State Building! It made lifetime memories for us. We will return back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank raelynnn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
There are newer reviews for West 57th Street by Hilton Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you like shopping and proximity to the sites this is the place for you.. Outside on the Square but close enough, and the Park is just a block away, and of course the shopping is as well!!!! NOTE: Bad time to remodel the Gym though, It's the New Year! Not that I needed it energize me.. smile. Nice Hotel..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a Hilton timeshare property we were invited to try at a reduced price in exchange for attending a sales presentation. It is not a traditional hotel in that the lobby is very small, with limited seating and no bar or restaurant, it feels more like a condo building, which we liked. Since our room was not ready, we stored our bags and walked the 1.5 blocks to Carnegie Deli for a late lunch. Upon our return, we were given a studio plus room on the 17th floor with a courtyard view (back of the hotel). The room had nice wood floors, king bed, desk and two chairs, a nice bathroom with a large shower, no tub. It was clean and very quiet. In fact, the entire property was very quiet which we enjoyed. All the staff were friendly, cheerful and ready to help. The doorman is a really nice guy. The location is great for spending time in midtown, 2 blocks from Central Park, walking distance to Time Square, Rockefeller Center and 5th Av. The Russian Tea Room is in the same block as is a nice grocery if you want a snack and don't have access to the hotel's owners lounge. The subway is a 3 minute walk.

The sales presentation took the entire 2 hours. There was some pressure, but not enough to leave us sorry we had attended.

Room Tip: Our room on a high floor facing courtyard was very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4gentexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Can't beat the location!!! Service was slow and jaded. Response times to concerns very poor. Concierge on two separate nights unwilling to help plan out an evening, kept referring me to a website that wasn't assisting me. The room was very dusty with dust bunnies on the desk and nightstands. The floors had scuff marks all over them and the room smelled like old mop water. The air system is noisy and disruptive. Internet is slow, slow, slow. Breakfast and evening reception foods were poor quality and offered no variation from day to day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank James Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at West 57th Street by Hilton Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced with our property. I have stressed the importance of ensuring that all guest requests are taken care of with great precision to prevent such repeat occurrences and guest dissatisfaction. This is certainly not indicative of the service levels that we pride ourselves on. Kindly contact me personally at ldelsole@hgvc.com as I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us. I look forward to hearing from you and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely yours,
Laurie del Sole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After sinking two hours into it, I noticed I wrote a review that might read like it was a staff job. Yet it is not, I am just a regular guest. /Bert
----

A few years ago, I got cold-called with an offer for "fractional ownership" (read: timeshare) in this property. My wife and I attended the sales pitch and we signed on the dotted line. Fast forward a few years:

The good: 1) All of the staff (minus the sales sharks) is first class. Always friendly, always helpful, always reliable. The GM, Lauri, is hands on and must be one of the few shining management stars in the hospitality industry. Her management values and style clearly show through her staff behavior. I never really met her personally, but heard her speak at the annual owners' meeting and since then, when I interact with staff as a guest, it surprises me every time that they really go about their business the way the GM said they would. Staff turnover also seems low, because the doormen, reception staff, and owners' lounge seem not to change over the years. Great!
2) The property is spotless. Clean, stylish for my taste. I like the modernistic and slightly minimalist lines. Think slightly Scandinavian in choice of materials (wood) and colors. Non-bombastic. In my book: perfect, but perhaps not for everyone.
3) The owners' lounge is great. Again, very good staff, pretty good breakfast, and the afternoon socials are a great idea.
4) The experience is consistent. I've stayed here countless times and I always get what I expect.
5) Location: what can I say... Two blocks from Central Park, same block as Carnegie Hall, ten minutes from Times Square, and literally a few minutes from the MET, the Museum of Natural History, MoMA by cab. But also one minute to Subway lines N, Q, R and F. For me, this is exactly THE location in New York to be at.
6) The rooms are large and quiet. I've stayed on many floors, in Studios, one bedrooms, one-bedrooms-plus. Sometimes facing the street, sometimes facing the courtyard. Right now I am on the 5th floor facing W57th, which is as noisy as they come. For me this is totally ok; Quiet enough for sleeping, yet some of the NYC buzz seeps through to make you feel part of the city. The rooms higher up, such as 24th floor, are almost totally quiet. But the building is still in the heart of New York City, not on a potato field in Idaho. The few people who I hear complain about the noise are not having their expectations right. The same goes for the size: these rooms are not small by any means by NYC standards. The studios are, say (I'm obviously guessing), 3-400 square feet. The ones with a bedroom 7-800 perhaps? Not the biggest in the city maybe, but more than adequate if you have any common sense.
7) The bathrooms are great: the one-bedroom-plus units also have a bath tub with a great view over the city. But even the regular bathrooms, such as in the studio I am now in, now look great and work well.

The GOOD-or-BAD-depending-on-your-point-of-view:
1) It's not a hotel. Meaning: it doesn't look like a hotel, doesn't feel like a hotel. The lobby is clean, uncluttered and serene, and it does not feel like stepping into Penn Station (compared to the Hilton on 6th ave for example). There is no on-site bar. No on-site restaurant. No shelf with flyers for "$5-off-Sea-World". No Room Service. No vending machines. No Pool. And the gym is under the axe now too. It is more like stepping into a co-op building with really good staff. For us, that is exactly how we want it. Within a few hundred feet there are plenty of good dining options, why would you bother with an overpriced and substandard hotel restaurant food? There are millions of hotels outside of NY where you can have that kind of experience for one fifth of the price. Here, they would reduce the value of the experience rather than add to it.
2) It really is not a hotel: there is only weekly housekeeping, and if you stay for less than 3 days there is the $85 housekeeping fee. Staff are calling every couple days or so to ask if you want to have towels replaced or trash removed. They can do daily housekeeping for a fee if that's something what you want, but for me it is just right the way it is.

The BAD:
1) the AC units could be quieter.
2) It is expensive. It is very expensive. Hotel and real estate prices in NYC are what they are but at $55k for the entry level (i.e. studio) you probably will never break even. Maintenance is $1300 something annually for the studio, almost double that for the one bedroom. You get 5, 6, 7 or so days out of it each year - depending on the season. But considering the upfront investment, your hotel room budget for the next 20 years could be, say, $600 a night, and you will have no trouble finding a decent place to stay - even in NYC.
3) Sales tactics: the current generation sales people seem OK, and we've been considering buying another block. But the original sellers, the ones we did sign the deal with, left us with a very bitter memory. They did a very hard sell, were obfuscating facts and cost, misrepresented availability and seasonal variation, strongly implied share values would soon skyrocket with decreased availability, insinuated high liquidity in case we would change our minds later. Timeshares are practically never an investment and de facto loose value from day one. But that is OK. If you know what you are buying, you spend the money for the experience. You most certainly do not invest into a liquid asset, nor do you really invest in real estate in NYC.

So, bottom line: if you know New York and what it can do for you, if you understand what the city and the location is worth to you, if you expect more of a homecoming effect rather than a family or business hotel come-and-go experience, if you like the style of the rooms, and you prefer to get to know the neighborhood a little; THEN you need to consider if you can live with sinking north of $50k upfront into it and writing it off, and committing to $1300+ (and rising) annually for maintenance for the entry level. When all those boxes are checked, you will love this place.

For my family and myself, New York has become more or less equivalent with W57. We've used all the points, borrowed points, bought stays with cash from HGVC, and even bought some more inventory from the open market as "hotel guests". We've noticed we plan our family calendar around availability at W57. I plan business trips around availability at W57. Yet, about half of my stays in NY are in a hotel elsewhere because of availability, and every time the conclusion is clear: this is the only place where I really want to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bert_from_Hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Really really fantastic and conbinient hoetl in NY city. As a member of HHonor, I'm proud of the member of this. But quite difficult to reseave because of we are not exactly NY 57th owner. so that we couldn't reserve this hotel until 45 days before. if this system would be changed as another resort hotels, we are sure visit here several times of each one year . Also, if this hotel has special tour event for owners , we love to use it with proud.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Kunihisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We purchased our HGV timeshare at West 57th a little over two years ago and have not regretted it for a moment. We have stayed about a half dozen times, and each trip is just as wonderful as the first visit that sold us on the place. The location can't be beat, the rooms are modern, well appointed, quiet and super clean. The entire staff is wonderfully attentive and really go out of their way to make sure you have a great experience. The morning breakfast and evening happy hour in the owners lounge is a real treat. We are very much looking forward our return trip next month!

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms have a little less street noise, but overall the rooms are surprisingly quiet g...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imjusayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#183 of 468 in New York City
651 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,804 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 468 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
1,460 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West 57th Street by Hilton Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West 57th Street by Hilton Club

Address: 102 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-3302
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#63 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $271 - $846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West 57th Street by Hilton Club 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West 57th Street by Hilton Club is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan's prestigious Plaza District between 6th and 7th Avenues, West 57th Street by Hilton Club is close to New York's most notable treasures. Studio rooms set a new standard for elegance, function, and comfort with floor-to-ceiling glass offering sweeping city views, flooring gracefully appointed with the look and feel of wood and bedding and furniture designed to soften and soothe. One-bedroom suites are consistent with West 57th's unique style offering spectacular city panoramas through the floor-to-ceiling glass and unobstructed views from the living room through the bedroom and into the master bath highlighting the open space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your West 57th Street by Hilton Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West 57th Street By Hilton Club Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing