We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange amalgam of NYC luxury and Midwest clientele”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Strange amalgam of NYC luxury and Midwest clientele”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We used points to stay here so essentially I can't comment on the value of the room. If I had paid $400+/night, I'm not sure the review would be quite the same; however, we did find the staff exceedingly helpful and friendly, the room (while a little small) very comfortable and well-laid out, the amenities top-notch and luxe.

Any problems or requests we had were solved immediately (an extra luggage rack, more towels or ice). The room was a sleek but not cold, with wood floors, warm colors, blankets with texture. The bedding was very nice, a high thread count duvet and sheets with a plethora of pillows. While the room was small, the drawer and closet space was very good---it was easy to get organized and keep the room uncluttered. The safe had plenty of room for a couple of laptops and other items. I loved the large glass shower and the Peter Roth soaps and shampoos.

Do be aware that this is not a regular hotel so there isn't maid service everyday, and there will be a pitch for a time share which you can politely decline without any further hassle. That said, there seemed to be A LOT of older people seemingly from the Midwest in town for Broadway plays and the like. We're middle-aged too but we felt very young (in spirit?) in comparison, and besides us, there seemed to be a few younger, hipper Japanese tourists who must have been puzzled too. Usually the hotels in NYC are as diverse and international as the city itself. Not this one.

If you're looking for an upscale, luxe but low-key (minus the sales pitch) place to lay your head, then this is an outstanding choice, particularly if you're not shelling out any cash for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisapdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    351
    97
    46
    20
See reviews for
302
738
77
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the West 57th Hilton this week and had a great stay. We purchased membership at this property last year and this was my first stay. We stayed in a Studio Plus - essentially a hotel room with a king bed - on the street side, 5th floor. We were offered the quieter side of the building but wanted the whole NYC experience, noise and all! I would like to have stayed in a 1 BR unit with a sitting area but it was unavailable. The Studio Plus is small, but average by NYC standards. I only give this location a 4 out of 5 because this location has no restaurant. As owners, we had access to the Owner's Lounge with breakfast and an afternoon reception from 5-7 with lots of great appetizers and wine, beer, and soft drinks. There is no charge for this, but you can only access this lounge as a member. If you receive an offer to stay here as part of the timeshare presentation, by all means take it! It is a soft sell and the salespeople are extremely nice and friendly. I have heard this even from people who didn't purchase! The package is the best price you'll ever find for a trip to NYC and it will be worth an hour or so of your time. West 57th is a great location with lots of nearby transportation, shopping, and of course, Central Park!

Room Tip: Street views (north side) are great, but there is some noise. Splurge for the Penthouse Suite for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very nice location, very clean property. I wish there was room service or a kitchen. The room did have a fridge, but no microwave. We stayed here as part of our timeshare, if we purchased the room it would have been $400 a night, you can stay in a comparable room at the Hilton in the fashion district for $200 a night, so it's a bit over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Alphonso D. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the 57th Hilton for 3 days between flights, and enjoyed it immensely. We were close to multiple subway stops and Central Park, which was a highlight of our trip. We were on the non-street side and it was lovely and quiet most of the time while in the room. The staff were great. At check out we were planning to take the subway back to the airport and the cute check-out girl heard me say the F train...she came outside to let us know the F train wasn't running and took the time to show us where to catch the right train to our destination. It was so helpful, and so nice to have her go out of her way to make sure we got where we needed to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We received a deal with the caveat that we attend a sales pitch. We were pleasantly surprised at the low pressure atmosphere. The property is wonderful and located a couple of blocks from Central Park. Bathrooms were wonderful and we were well treated by the attentive staff. Vacation ownership definitely would have its benefits as we were not permitted to enter the Owner's lunge. Very quiet and clean. All in all, we had a great stay and were well treated.

Room Tip: High floor - inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghBounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband, two daughters, and I stayed at the West 57th Hilton June 10-13. It is on the same block as Carnegie Hall. We were in room 2003 on the front side. We had a sitting room with pull-out couch, a room with a king size bed, and a bathroom with a separate shower and tub. We loved our experience and wished we could have stayed longer (because they were booked, we moved to the New York Hilton around the corner for the rest of our stay). Even though we were on the 20th floor, you could hear the NYC traffic but to me that just added to the experience. All three rooms had floor to ceiling windows that were awesome!! The maid service was exceptional. It was so nice to be greeted by the doormen every time we came in and the front desk people were eager to help us with all our needs! We bought breakfast from a sidewalk vendor around the corner on 7th. They had fresh fruit and donuts.

In order to get this room, my husband and I participated in the time share sales pitch. Our salesman was courteous and informative while we enjoyed coffee, sandwiches, and other goodies. We have participated in these types of sales pitches before and told him up front we hoped he wouldn't turn all ugly on us when we didn't buy into the program. We didn't buy and he was very friendly. He walked us down to get our bonus for participating.

This was my first trip to NYC and I would do it like this again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: If you are not a member, you don't get in the member lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. suburb, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

No high-pressure selling, full disclosure of details, fine facilities, and true value. The Hilton representative even advised us on the basis we should use (usage) in making our time-share decision. We've had dozens of experiences at Hilton properties, and they always live up to the Hilton reputation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West 57th Street by Hilton Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West 57th Street by Hilton Club

Property: West 57th Street by Hilton Club
Address: 102 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-3302
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#63 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — West 57th Street by Hilton Club 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West 57th Street by Hilton Club is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan's prestigious Plaza District between 6th and 7th Avenues, West 57th Street by Hilton Club is close to New York's most notable treasures. Studio rooms set a new standard for elegance, function, and comfort with floor-to-ceiling glass offering sweeping city views, flooring gracefully appointed with the look and feel of wood and bedding and furniture designed to soften and soothe. One-bedroom suites are consistent with West 57th's unique style offering spectacular city panoramas through the floor-to-ceiling glass and unobstructed views from the living room through the bedroom and into the master bath highlighting the open space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your West 57th Street by Hilton Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West 57th Street By Hilton Club Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing