We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try a quenelle”
Review of Bar Breton - CLOSED

Bar Breton
Price range: $55 - $65
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 28th and 29th Streets
Transit: N,R Trains on 28th Street 6 Train on 28th Street
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Try a quenelle”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife lived in Haute Savoie, France , and loves pike quenelle. They are hard to find in NY. So we were happy to see that a new restaurant had just opened in NY called La quenelle. We of course tried it . The place is not so great, a bit of a long corridor....not particularly elegant BUT if you are interested in your plate instead of the walls, you will love this place.
A perfect quenelle, light , on a bed of vegetable risotto with a delicious lobster sauce is something you want to try. It is one of the best quenelle we have eaten ; even in France they are sometimes too heavy. Of course they also serve hamburgers with french fries and other dishes but you should not go to La quenelle for something you will find in any NY restaurant.
If you have never tried a quenelle, one more reason to go there and try it.
It is not cheap, two quenelles, one glass of white wine, mineral water and two expressos come to just over $ 100. But it is well worth it. Welcome to NY la Quenelle !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The food was excellent but we paid through the nose and left hungry.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went with a large group during restaurant week. Even with the specials, the food was outrageously priced considering the serving sizes. There is no reason to spend a couple of hundred dollars for what was excellent food and leave hungry after a five course meal!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaleofGenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofc
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You need to eat here. Seriously.”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The restaurant was a few blocks from our hotel and it was just enough walk to get our appetites going. Heard great things and decided to test the place. We were not disappointed!

If you don't want to be disappointed, make reservations even for breakfast. They open at 10am. They were full the day we were there (a Saturday).

My French Toast was presented like a dessert and it was lovely on the palate, aside from the eyes. The Galette (salmon and eggs benedict) others in our party had were generous and raved about as well. We also had coffee, decaf green tea, fresh orange juice, a bread basket (fantastic and freshly baked!) as well as a side of honey bacon. Delicious!!! It's an experience you will remember for the quality and taste. A bit pricey though at $108 for breakfast 4 people, but the portions took us well through to dinner. A m-u-s-t in N-Y-C!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FairCritic68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Amazing soup! Cauliflower turned into a divine dish”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Had lunch here yesterday. It was a typical New York day. Overcast, windy, grey. My friend and business associate had heard good things about the place. Which is why we were there forma lunch meeting.
I had a soup and a sandwich. The cauiliflower soup was simply devine. With deep fried chorizo strips to give it a sense of definition. Creamy, subtle, warm perfection. The sandwich was ordinary but the soup more than made up for it! I would want to come back for the soup. Only problem is I live a bit off, a couple of continents away!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeenMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We were walking down 5th Avenue during the Veterans' Day Parade and stopped in to the BB. It is a small place but we were very pleasantly surprised at the excellent food. We all had different versions of the soup and sandwich lunch and all enjoyed our food. I highly recommend it. Good value as well.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayflower57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Breton also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing