We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant of our trip!”
Review of Apiary - CLOSED

Apiary
Price range: $31 - $110
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: 11th Street
Transit: The 6 train to Astor Place and the 4, 5 or 6 to 14th St. The R train to 8th St and the N or R to 14th St. The L train to 3rd Ave.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best restaurant of our trip!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Apiary has a small menu but I imagine everything on it is done well. For a pre-show dinner we tried the Prix Fixe menus and were not disappointed. My wife's salad was simple but she loved it. My soup was delicious. She had a duck leg and I had roasted chicken. We both thought ours was better than each others'. I usually don't like the skin on chicken, but this was incredible! Our desserts were perfect - not to much and a a complete treat to the pallette. We split both right down the middle - a vanilla custard with berry syrup, and some sort of cake.
Our waiter was friendly and fun to speak with - not snooty as I so often find with a restaurant this good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We Will Be Back”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went to Apiary pre theater, so we were a bit rushed which is too bad because the staff at Apiary does not rush diners through a meal. The food is very fresh and tasty. We had the hamachi appetizer (which is so generous you can easily share) and for dinner I had the salmon which was excellent and my husband had the cod which he said was great. The food is all perfectly seasoned. Nothing is overdone - just right.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, LA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Went with my wife one Friday night in February. Showed up without a reservation and were seated immediately. The service was great and our window view was perfect. Wife and I split the sweatbreads and it was succulent. I then had the pan roasted fluke with celery root purée, mushrooms, and wine sauce. I could have licked the bowl clean. Wife was a bit less impressed with the chicken but was pleased. Overall I have this place marked for a return visit in July.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainJ47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

While Apiary is very loud -- expect this, relax and you'll be fine -- the food is exceptional, and the wine list is carefully chosen and accessible. We were thrilled with the food (braised rabbit with pappardelle for my husband, duck confit with turnips for me) and can't wait to go back! Good for groups (make a reservation). The bar looked pretty laid-back and comfortable, a little more relaxed than the restaurant, which was full of conversation and very lively. The service was excellent.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brookelyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Polished Service”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very nice place with polished service. Food was terrific - we had bean soup, romaine salad (which wasn't romaine but red leaf) duck breast with cabbage and peppercorns and swordfish with salsa and pesto. Dessert was a very nice apple tarte tatin with ice cream, although it was not exactly a tarte tatin. Tea comes with a variety of honeys and espresso.
was excellent.We will be back.
I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews about service. We were there quite early, but the place was packed by the time we left, so we weren't simply the beneficiaries of a light night. We will try it again, and re-review if things seem very different.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apiary also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing