We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Excellent salads and coffee”
Review of Cafe Metro

Cafe Metro
Order Online
Ranked #4,192 of 16,723 Restaurants in New York City
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had several salads here and coffee/pastry for breakfast since our hotel was just across the street. The salads are large and tasty, although you should ask for oil/vinegar if you want to reduce calories. Their dressing is rich and delicious. Decaf sold here and it's good. Fast, efficient service.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2019

My daughters and I were staying at a nearby hotel on 57th Street and we found this place while we were walking around the area getting familiar with it.

We had breakfast here over Memorial Day weekend and thought the food was good as well as the service. Menu offers a wide variety of items such as omelettes, pancakes, smoothies, bagels, yogurt, homemade muffins, croissants with prices from $ 2 and up to $ 9 for most items for breakfast. Total cost for breakfast was reasonable overall.

Other items on the menu also include sandwiches, hot pressina melts, pitas, pasta bowls, quesadillas, soups, salads and healthy grain bowls.

I would recommend trying this place.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

stopped in for dinner... sandwiches were dry and tasteless, soup was not hot, and quite expensive for what we ate. We are not fans of this restaurant though others may find it OK

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank notabigdealatall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Ordered Belgian waffles. Very undercooked and was hard as rubber. Not to mention still cold as if it came out of the fridge. Prices are massively over-inflated. Waffles and a coffee (portions the size of my hand) for 16$. Big rip-off. Possible tourist trap. Do not go here unless you want to be homeless.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank ashendesilva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

We ate here most days for breakfast. A great little cafe to refuel after a day of sightseeing. So much selection to choose from. The bagels were superb, it was like there was a omelette inside. The staff are hard working, friendly and efficient. The carrot cake and oreo cakes, were stunning, you get a huge wedge of cake, as you can imagine.

Many Thanks from South Wales, UK

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank npnak_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Metro also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing