We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Terrible service

I took a round trip from Baltimore to NYC on 9/24/21. The morning bus was 25 minutes late but it... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
fernandomO6052GV
via mobile
Not so Mega

We have this bus company a try for a trip to NYC. Sadly, the seats were quite uncomfortable. The... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2021
Freedom80627
via mobile
Read all 401 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around New York City
from $100.00
More Info
from $169.00
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $735.00
More Info
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
35
56
34
46
230
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
35
56
34
46
230
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 401 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We took Megabus from White Marsh to NYC.
The ride to NYC was good. Grumpy driver and he was weaving in and out of the lane by the time we go to NJ. Thank goodness he stopped for a break.
Seats were uncomfortable. I kept sliding toward the front window. (seat belt on)
We had paid extra to reserve our seats and had to argue with people sitting in them when we got on. They told us no. Finally they moved. They moved into other reserved seats and that guy had to go through the same 'discussion' with them.
Could use a few more 'reserved' signs directly in front of or on the seats.
I probably would give them a second chance if I based our trip on the White Marsh to NYC portion of our journey.
Then the horror of NYC to White Marsh...730 PM.
There is no cover or lighting at their 'bus stop'.
Luckily we met some other people standing in the rain waiting to go to other Megabus destinations and they explained what to do.
We had to stand a block away to get 'some' limited cover from the monsoon that night.
It was freezing, windy and pouring rain.
We stood there for over an hour along with numerous other people.
There was an empty bus sitting there that probably could have allowed us to go onboard and stay dry but he just sat there.
the sign on his bus said DC/Baltimore but when people asked he said no he was a DC Express bus.
Finally after 1/2 hour he changed his sign to read DC.
Then he finally allowed people traveling to Dc to board.
The only sign on the sidewalk was for Baltimore and Delaware.
It was pitch black.
There were people going To Baltimore, DC, Toronto, Rochester standing all over together...
No one to help.
The girl behind us told us getting to NYC on Megabus is a breeze but getting back to Baltimore is always a hassle.
Finally we were allowed to board our bus. At this point everyone was completely soaked through to the skinnand frozen.
We were so happy to finally be out of the rain and cold.
It didn't last long.
As we began our journey the driver said it was an old bus with spotty wi-fi.
Fine, no biggie everyone said just turn on the heat! (this is NOVEMBER)
Well sorry but that is another thing...this old bus has no heat!

Not only that but the AC is blowing directly down on us FULL BLAST and FREEZING cold air is coming out.
The diver said if he would have gone back and gotten another bus "you all would have had to stand in the rain for another hour".
Wait...aren't drivers supposed to pre-check their commercial vehicles for being operational and safe before loading passengers?
We have never been so cold and miserable.
We had THREE vents blowing AC directly on us, that would not turn off.
We stopped at a rest stop and luckily the gift shop was selling sweathshirts for $25, and thin little blankets for $12.
We spent $70 attempting to keep from freezing the rest of the ride.
When we arrived at White Marsh we looked like a softball team, everyone was wearing the same hot pink NEW JERSEY sweatshirt and carrying the paper thin felt blanket purchased at the gift shop.
Sadly we were still freezing because we were still soaked, and the cold air was still coming out full force.

I contacted Megabus the next day, got a form reply and NOTHING else.
I still have not heard back.
Apparently customer service/satisfaction/safety is not a high priority.
I even asked if they got a cut of the profits from the gift shop sales that night.

The old saying is true about getting what you pay for...Sorry but there are too many other safe and comfortable options to NYC.
I thought Greyhound was bad...

Date of experience: November 2017
4  Thank slj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

BUYER BEWARE: I will never book on Megabus again. Their business practices are unethical and customer service is intentionally not helpful, giving you a run around and making it impossible to speak with a person of authority. It is understood that they have a no refund policy. But they also refuse to give credit for unused tickets, no matter the reason, and if you trade your ticket in, they charge you an additional fee of $10 and don't credit you for any amount you've paid above the price of the new ticket. Lastly, they price gouge. I paid $69 for a ticket for travel the day before Thanksgiving, Boston to New York (usually up to $35 max). There is no reason Megabus can't provide credit. Bad business, not customer friendly, unethical. Never again. This business deserves to go out of business.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank madrighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017

This was our first Megabus experience. We reserved in advance to get the front two seats in the upper level. Meeting the bus in Manhattan was a bit of an ordeal, as many routes pick up in the same place along the sidewalk, with no shelter, and this day we had torrential rain. The bus picked up exactly on time, and arrived in Philadelphia exactly on time despite the weather. We found no downside to the trip: comfortable seats, free wifi (although someone immediately tried to sign into my account), and a bus driver who was not only courteous, but took turns very carefully. Way cheaper than the train and not much longer. Best of all one can rent a car at the Amtrak station, as the bus pulls up maybe 200 yards away.

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank HouMSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

Left from NY at 3.30 am for a daytrip to D.C. The bus left on time. It was really warm on the bus so I got sick. Maybe better to have some colder air and if your cold you could put a jacket on. We came to DC 1 hour later than it said. Just when we came to DC, the drivers change and we stood still for 20 minutes. No worries here, everything can happen on the road. Om our way home to NY, the bus left at 6pm, again on time. On this bus there where no wifi, even though it said so on the bus. We came to NY 50 minutes later than we should. Maybe best to reconsider the time so it's included if there are delays, like trafficjam.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

I was a little nervous taking Megabus from DC to Manhattan based on reviews I’d read. It was a last minute trip and the bus was pretty much the only option.

We booked tickets for a NY bound bus leaving from DC’s Union Stastion at 10 AM. The bus was a little over half filled. We loaded quickly and the bus pulled out precisely on time at 10. The WiFi worked well on the bus, but download TV or podcasts prior to your trip is recommended.

No problems during our trip - the bus had no issues and thankfully no accidents or slowdowns on the road. We arrived at 7th Avenue and 27th Street in front of FIT exactly on time at 2:15 pm.

Our return trip was an 8 pm bus. The NY buses depart from 34th Street across from,the Javitz Center and next to a large trailer parking lot. It’s not well lit and despite the presence of so many bus passengers, I recommend being mindful of your surroundings. Even more so for late night departures. Again we left right on time and arrived back in DC On time as well. We lucked out with no accidents along our route too.

Overall, it was a good experience, an inexpensive fare, and not having to deal with the cost and stress of driving in the city, finding parking, etc., and convenient pick up/drop off spots. The drivers were professional and great. I’d definitely take Megabus again.

Pro-tips: there is a restroom in the bus but I’d avoid it unless urgently needed. Bring your own toilet tissue with you - handiwipes are a good idea too. Also pack some,food or snack and water for,the ride. The bus doesn’t stop and it’s a long trip. Megabus picks up and drops off in the back of Union Station. Again particularly late at night, be aware the where the buses are doesn’t appear to be secured.

Date of experience: October 2017
4  Thank sojourner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews