We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderous Stay during the Holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #81 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderous Stay during the Holidays”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my partner during the Christmas holidays. We stayed at the top floor, corner room, and boy was it fantastic!

Came initially because the hotel was featured prominently in the U.S. tv show Gossip Girl. That said, the hotel is definitely a five-star luxury hotel with all the bells and whistles that you would expect. It is a traditional classic hotel (i.e. not modern) decor. Prices can easily top $400/night but we found a great promotional deal for around half the price for a 45sqm room during the busy holiday season.

The lobby is absolutely to die for; it's ornate fixtures and that old time classical New York feel is ever present. The staff are friendly and curt. The room excellent; though the bathroom is definitely on the smaller size (which is normal New York expectations). The location is excellent and nearby major tourist, shopping, and eating destinations. Walking up to Times Square area can be a bit of a chore, though, if you don't have a good pair of shoes. Though, admittedly going during the winter season may have made walking less enjoyable but just as splendid with the New York holiday sights.

For the restaurant lobby downstairs, food is excellent but expect high five star prices for such, deserved or not. That said, this being New York, there are tons of places to eat around the hotel.

For getting here, we took the private limo from JFK airport. But, I wouldn't recommend driving since the drop-off / pick-up area is literally at curbside only with no apparent hotel parking available. There are, of course, plenty of taxis and private cars for hire. Just be sure you know where you want to go as New York drivers tend to not have much patience if you don't know where you're going.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sham M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at The New York Palace last Christmas. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back for another fantastic stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    774
    277
    98
    68
See reviews for
1,000
943
88
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was in Central midtown on Maddison avenue and handy for many attractions. Rooms were very luxurious and the hotel is a gem. The single thing that was a real shame was the internet. The speed for the free version was not very good at all and the fact that you had to pay for a descent internet when staying in luxury hotel in New York is a real shocker. The internet at a recent Greek hotel was free and worked everywhere with superb speed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for you feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our convenient location.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Decent hotel, very grand entrance area, good sized rooms at a very reasonable price, minutes walk from all midtown restaurants, Central Park and Broadway. The desk, concierge and mail room services were exceptional

Room Tip: If you want extra luxury shell out for a tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Gillian1008,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at The New York Palace. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The renovations look fantastic! What a fabulous lobby. From the moment we arrived until we checked out, the staff at the New York Palace were attentive! Our room was beautiful with a view of St. Patrick's Cathedral and all the way to Rockefeller Center. The location was just right. We were able to walk all over - Times Square, shopping, the theater...We can't wait to stay at the New York Palace again in the near future!

Terri B

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Terri B,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our renovated hotel. I hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTON, SC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

1) Room was excellent, except for the bed poor (soft)
2) View was excellent (premier skyline room )
3) Common ares of the hotel are well maintained (clean)
4) New coffee shop is very nice staff is excellent
5) Courtyard needs to be maintained better than it is (keep it clean)
6) Main service was excellent
7) Elevators are very fast no long waits
8) Door man are always ready to help

Room Tip: Buy a metrocard for bus or subway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARTIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Marty JR,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was here for a business meeting (and my first time in New York!) but from the time of my arrival on, I felt like Royalty - staff was great, offering help at every turn. Food was fabulous. The location is perfect - easy walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, etc. - great for someone not familiar with this area of the city. I would especially like to thank Guest Service Agent Bitan Haidar, who went out of his way to be friendly and helpful, despite the hectic time of day. He even arranged for hotel to send me a birthday card since I would be there on my birthday!! I hope someday I can return and enjoy more of this great hotel and it's wonderful staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Reba B,

Thank you for this amazing review. I am glad you had a great stay and that we helped making your birthday special. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Bitan.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

They have done a fine job with the refurb but disappointed that they have lost Club Floors. Had a very high room with great views of St Patricks and Rock Centre. Could do with Coffee and Tea making in Bedrooms. Gym is excellent with a large number of pieces of equipment. The Bell Staff and Concierge were excellent and really helpful,however the Reception was brusque and unfriendly.Room for improvement there!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room on higher floors with vies of St Patricks etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnchristinewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear johno 14,

I am glad to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay and is appreciative of our renovation. Thank you for your sincere feedback and for this great review.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,243 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#101 of 468 in New York City
3,780 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Property: Lotte New York Palace
Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#65 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing