We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will definitely be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotte New York Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lotte New York Palace
Ranked #83 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

When we went to check in to our two rooms at the NY Palace at 5:15 pm, only one room was ready. Apparently, there had been an issue with the laundry service that day, and housekeeping was backed up. The second room was not ready until close to 7:00 pm. Instead of this being a horrible situation, the staff made it quite pleasant. They bought us drinks in the bar and then even comped our room for the night. Everyone at this gorgeous hotel, from the bellmen, to the wait staff, to housekeeping, was so pleasant and truly friendly. They were so apologetic and bent over backwards to make it up to us. We had a wonderful stay and are so appreciative that our check-in issues were recognized as major inconveniences and amends were quickly made. What a wonderful hotel. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Check out the family plan - book one full price room and get a second for half price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Susan G,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the outcome resolution. I truly hope to welcome you back again so that we can provide you with another wonderful stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    739
    262
    92
    61
See reviews for
946
889
81
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I really like the location at 50th/madison which is classic midtown near high end shops, the Central park (57th+), yet near Lexington 'real life' NY. Hotel rate was discounted when we stayed, and value was obvious for that reason. Classic lobby, good staff help including concierge who do help find restaurants etc; and clean spacious rooms (not the tiny boutique new style).
Clean rooms and we had view of the Cathedral and 'open sky' which is so rare in NY with all the tall buildings.
Did not stay in the Towers which is 'new' and more costly; but imagine it would be good. Did not use the restaurant since prefer 'non hotel' when travelling.
All in all, fair and while not cheap, it is good for the location

Room Tip: Cathedral view looking West
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear gwit,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at The New York Palace. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel was truly a gem - beautifully restored and grand, right across from St Patricks cathedral. We had connecting rooms with family and had great views and the housekeeping staff were sweet and work impeccable. Attached pubs, outdoor patio, and convenient coffee shop with fantastic pastries were icing on the cake. (did not happen to try restaurant but it looked beautiful) Everyone was professional and pleasant and the phone salesperson actually helped us with reserving the family plan rate for the second room which is half the rack rate. It was the only way we could have afforded the connecting rooms and certainly made our two night stay more enjoyable for all of us. Easy walk to subway and Rock Center area, and 4 - 6 blocks to Penn and Grand Central. Only odd item was the check in was inordinately long - computer issues? Lot of key-strokes going on and lot of anxious waiting on our part - I mean like 15-20 minutes. Is IS an enormous hotel, tho, and we were able to get in to one of the connecting rooms early, so that was wonderful to put down some stuff, get changed and go explore. I am planning a trip back with girlfriends in the fall and hoping they will consider this hotel as our 'base camp' for all we want to do. Loved this place!

Room Tip: The beds were true beds - as in BETTER than my house. Oh the sleep you will get! And you'll need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbrady76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear bcbrady76,

Thank you for all the kind comments and the amazing review. I am glad you and your family had a great stay and I look forward to welcome you and your girlfriends next time you visit NYC.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The service sets the hotel apart. Every staff member went above and Beyond for our every request. Door men and concierge were always extremely friendly and helpful. Gave great advice. We had a room with 2 double beds and had plenty of space. Great location. Beautiful place. We will absolutely go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGfrom504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear GGfrom504,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. I am glad your had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcome you back.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

When I come to Manhattan on business my wife will always ask, "Are you staying at the Palace?"
if I say yes, when schedules permit, she will always try and make the trip with me. I have stayed at the Palace for a number of years now and have to say the level of service continues to get better and better.
The rooms are quite comfortable, quiet and attractive. The staff is always friendly and extremely helpful. No request seems to be unreasonable. This hotel really understands the concept of good customer service!!!
The Palace also has one of the best locations in midtown with easy access to all points in Manhattan. if I sound biased it is because I am. Clearly the Palace is my favorite hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at Lotte New York Palace, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear coa2012,

Thank you for this amazing review and for your continuous loyalty. I am glad that after all these years we still exceed your expectations and provide you with wonderful experiences.

I look forward to welcome you and your wife back to our hotel.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

a lovely hotel, but when in NY if you are out all the time, theres not much opportunity to enjoy the facilities. not much of a view but i wasnt expecting it. only disappointment was that my son forgot his dog (soft toy of 10 years) in the room and even though i called later the same day and a few times after my return to london, they never found it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMOOZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife recently wrote a review about the New York Palace, in which she complained about being awakened by construction at 7am. She wrote the review from our hotel room 30 minutes after we were awakened, and while she was tired and frustrated.

We wish to pull this review and instead express our utmost satisfaction with this hotel and more precisely, with the hotel's assistant director, whose name is Sid.

Once Sid took control of our situation, our experience at the hotel completely changed. Sid made up for the inconvenience in so many ways (and we recognize that the construction was completely out of the hotel's control). He made us feel so valued and appreciated. He immediately changed our room, away from the construction and into a room with one of the most amazing NYC views I've ever seen.

The hotel service staff was the best I've ever seen. Every time they came up to our room, they were so kind, polite and attentive. The room service food was exquisite and worth every penny.

The terrace was gorgeous and relaxing. The beds were so comfortable, large and clean. We really needed our rest during this trip, and once our complaint was resolved, we were able to relax and rest as much as we needed.

We will now always stay at this hotel every time we come to NYC, which is often. We will strongly recommend this hotel to all our family and friends who come to NYC as well.

Thank you, Sid and the New York Palace, for making this anniversary trip so comfortable and memorable! You have two new loyal guests in us! You took a frustrating situation and turned it into a trip we will never forget.

The Labelles

Room Tip: Choose room 2815!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre-Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,601 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte New York Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte New York Palace

Property: Lotte New York Palace
Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6845 (Formerly The New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#55 Family Hotel in New York City
#65 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte New York Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Lotte New York Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing