We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #221 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I was very surprised with this hotel! i was expected it to be very bad for some reason but it wasn't! Very large room for NYC standards for a solo traveller booking the 1 person room! Shared bathrooms no problem. Good air conditioning and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aus_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    768
    251
    58
    43
See reviews for
177
612
183
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The shared bathroom was meticulously cleaned it seems after every usage by any guest! The rooms are nothing fancy and the blanket was a bit artificial feeling, but fine. Carpets oldish and slightly musty.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a low-budget hotel with a great location in Midtown. Stayed with my teenager son for 3 nights. Loved the authentic New Yorker style. The two shared bathrooms were clean and we never experienced both of them being occupied at the same time. Very clean all over. Stayed in room 510 with a nice view of Empire State Building. Room was small, the bed as well but with a very good mattress. I will recommend it to anyone who would is travelling on a budget and wants to stay in a hotel that for sure will give you that special New York vibe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanishJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Hotel 31 is excellent value for it's location. You can be at Madison Square Garden in 10 minutes walking... Grand Central is 10 minutes walk away... and the rest of Manhattan is easily accessible on the underground. Rooms are small and some share bathrooms... but beds are comfortable and the staff are helpful.

Only massive downside is the useless internet. I was travelling with friends from overseas.... so working internet obviously makes communication easy and cheap on viber/whatsapp etc etc.... rather than costly international roaming on mobile phones. Unfortunately the Internet in my room didn't work at all on my phone or iPad... if I walked down 2 floors and stood next to the elevator shaft it worked.... sometimes..... Not really ideal when trying to plan vacation activities. Other than that... Hotel 31 does the job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States of America
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I am grateful my partner and I trusted all the positive reviews on here for Hotel 31 before we booked four nights here. We just returned from our NYC trip and both agree we would book here again.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
Both hotel clerks we encountered were very kind and answered our questions. Check-in and check-out were smooth. No problems here.

ROOM
We stayed in room 505, which is on the fifth floor. We shared one of the two bathrooms on the floor. Specifically, the room came with two mirrors (no full-length), one sink, a desk, a chair, a hairdryer, a 27" flat screen TV w/ remote, a safe built into the TV stand, three hangers, a lamp, and an A/C.

We felt the A/C was loud once you had it on for a couple hours. We had to shut it off in the middle of the night once or twice. Another issue was the noise level from housekeeping in the mornings. They spoke loudly to one another and you could hear them vacuuming/dusting the blinds. We were awaken by this a couple times. It almost felt like they were in our room--yes, the walls are thin, but we hardly ever heard our neighbors during our stay. In terms of hearing noise from the city, you won't realize you're in NYC until you step outside the hotel. It was that quiet in our room.

SHARED BATHROOM
This was our first time (outside of dorm rooms) where we had to share a bathroom. Like many have stated, the shared bathrooms were always in the same condition: clean, tidy, and free of clutter. For this kind of situation, we think they did a great job with this part of their hotel. It could definitely be worse. You can tell they really focus on this part of the hotel experience for their guests. Also, we never had to wait to use the bathroom and no one ever bothered us (even during a 30-minute shower). NOTE: They do not provide soap in the shared bathroom (it's all in your room), so bring your own or wait to wash your hands when you get back to your room.

LOCATION
BEST FEATURE of hotel. Koreatown was literally 3 blocks away (bakeries, restaurants, shops). Empire State Building and Times Square is all within walking distance. Food is available at all hours of the day. We had the best fried chicken at Bonchon on 5th Avenue at 1 AM on a Monday night. The 99 Cent Pizza shop (which has good ratings) next door to Bonchon is open 24/7. We also walked everywhere (literally, no taxis and no subway for us!) and were grateful that we were in the middle of Manhattan.

BED BUGS
Unfortunately, my partner discovered little red bumps around his ankles after the second night we were there. On the day of check-out, I discovered little red bumps around my ankles. Not a great way to end the trip, right?

OVERALL
Despite the bed bugs and the noise level from the housekeeping, we would recommend this place and would book here again. We'd bring our bed sheets next time and simply get over the housekeeping noise. For the price and location, this was a very good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1-3 floors are smoking (you can smell it if you walk down the stairs). Higher floors are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights. In the room, it has one bedroom, one small sink & mirror, one pair of chair&desk. I shared the bathroom with other people. The decoration was quite ancient, but good for solo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Chang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is exactly what I wanted from my first trip to NYC. It was so cute and had the old school elevator with the sliding metal door and corny music on the way up! The room was quite small but that was all you needed because we didn't spend much time in there anyway, too much to see! There was no bathroom in the room but there were two on the same floor and they were always very clean and I had no problems with this. There is a sink in the room though so that helps. The location was great as we were able to walk everywhere. Staff were very helpful as well. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinHayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 468 in New York City
4,808 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing