We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of Hotel”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #224 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My kind of Hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Enjoyed the stay. A friend and I shared the room. I really liked all the old woodwork in the building and the room. It is very reasonably priced and the location is a block from the subway, cabs were easy to catch and many restaurants nearby. Staff was very nice and always helpful, Housekeeping was wonderful. I would very definitely stay here again. Its not fancy like the big boys but very cozy and comfy.

Room Tip: we had a room with a bathroom. some rooms share one. we also had a wall of windows facing 31st. 8t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    779
    256
    58
    45
See reviews for
183
621
186
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Englan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 4-10 and 4-11-2014. We were in a room that was supposedly a double sized room with private bath. The total bill was $550.00 for the two nights. The room was small, the beds were a bit hard. The room was clean and otherwise comfortable.
The hotel is definitely old. Shared bathrooms, old elevator, lots of dark wood.
The staff was friendly and helpful, parking was available right down the street. Parking cost $84.00 for two nights. The hotel is in a convenient location and the NYU Medical Center was within walking distance.
We felt that we would stay there again if we needed to go to the Medical Center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglanTraveler115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked this hotel from the reviews on here and wasnt disapointed at all. Excellent location. Right in the middle of everything so not far to walk. Beautiful restaurant on the corner of the block which is also very cheap so handy after a long days walking we ate there then less than a min walk to your room. The rooms are a little dated in decor but who cares.... they are clean and get maids every morning for sheets and towels. When in NYC you are literally using the hotel for sleep! We booked a room that had a shared bathroom which i was a little worried about but can honestly say i had a shower every night and it was spotless everytime! if your looking for a cheap hotel, friendly staff and local to everything you cant go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank staciejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

- very kind staff
- good beds
- clean rooms: our room was cleaned every day and we had new towels every day
- also the shared bathrooms were always very clean
- near the empire state building and the subway was just around the corner

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Maren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was clean, simple, and in a great location. The rooms are small, but we were out all day, anyway, and only used the room for sleeping. We stayed three nights. It was just what we needed--we'll likely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Cross, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Great low cost option. For Manhattan it was inexpensive. The rooms were nice. They were small, but nice. The front desk people were excellent. They even printed a coupon for the parking garage which is only a block away. The parking was $38 a day. Ended up being cheaper than the car rental drop fee. Subway is a block away also. Mid town was convenient. It is an old building with a not too old refit. Would stay the again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brett8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 467 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
3,324 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing