We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice warm room”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #220 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, nice warm room”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was my first time in NYC. The room was very nice. It was small but i only spent my nights in the hotel and walked around all day. It had a queen bed and enough space for my big suitcase and other items. I spent 5 nights here so i can tell you this is very good value in NYC. The subway is less than a block away and you can walk to times square in 15-20 mins. The room is very warm. I didnt even use one of the blankets that were provided. The only thing is the shared toilet. If you dont mind that then you really be wasting money staying anywhere else. In my 5 nights i didnt have to wait for the toilet even once. Everytime i needed it it was empty. I paid $550 for 5 nights. Pretty cheap for Manahttan if you ask me. I thought the location might be a problem, but it really wasnt. I just took the subway everywhere. I am lazy :)

Room Tip: Buy a 7 day pass for $30 for subway rather than per ride. I only found out about the 7 day pass at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Akshay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    768
    252
    58
    43
See reviews for
177
612
183
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I like both this hotel and the sister Hotel 17. Everything is very clean and the hotels are very well located. Nothing spectactular, but a very good value. Staff was pleasant and we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Recently stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights. In terms of value, for about $100. a night in the heart of one of the greatest cities in the world, the hotel is tough to beat ! Staff at the front desk were very helpful with getting around the city and just about any information we needed. They were also very professional and patient when I first arrived and my manners were less than ideal. It took little time to get comfortable and enjoy being in such a great place. There's plenty of good delis, restaurants and pubs within a short walk. It was pretty awesome to walk back to the hotel after a late night dinner viewing the illuminated top floors of the Empire State and Chrysler buildings. Rooms were small but probably average for NYC; beds were very good. Shared bathrooms were about the cleanest I have seen anywhere. Two nights was a short time to experience New York. Hopefully, we'll have the chance to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I booked this hotel on Booking.com next time I'll use hotels website.Good location,less than $200 for 2 nights,private bath on Superbowl weekend. Quiet,clean what more could you want in this price range?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sligo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I do not write reviews too often but I felt this hotel needed to be reviewed. We arrived to NYC early so I called to see if we could check in early. The person that answered the phone was extremely pleasant and said we could check in early. He also gave us directions from Grand Central to the hotel ( a nice easy walk down Park Ave). When we arrived I asked for an upgrade if possible since we had 2 beds and shared bathroom. We were immediately upgraded to one bed and private room. Everyone we encountered were helpful and polite. The lobby wash all but I loved the old fashioned feel to it. The elevator was small but again I loved the vintage feel to it. The room was very clean and the view of the Empire State Building outside our bathroom window was gorgeous. The only complaint I had with the room included no ice on the floor..it's in the lobby and we were unable to control the heat. The heater made it stuffy in the room but nothing unbearable. I was happy to have the private bathroom, but walking past the floor bathroom I noticed it was very clean. I think we saw one other couple on our floor the entire time so I am sure the bathrooms are easy to share. If you are looking for a quaint, old fashioned hotel with great staff and a great location this is your place. I would absolutely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in November. We opted for shared bathroom which wasn't a problem at all and were lovely and clean!! Hotel has a lovely feel to it, just what we imagined a quaint little hotel in New York would be like!! We stayed in room 410 and could see the Empire State Building from our bed, looked fab all lit up at night!! Hotel is in a great location too, walking distance to Times Square and theres a subway two streets away if u didn't want to walk!! Staff were all really helpful too. All in all our stay was spot on and we would definitely stay at Hotel 31 again!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March 2013, I wasn't sure how I will like it because they have bathrooms on the floors but I was looking for something with good location, clean, cheap, with good reviews, really just to sleep in since I had 2 busy days in NYC and I was really happy, it wasn't busy so didn't have a problem using bathroom when I needed to, it was REALLY clean, cleaner than most 2 or 3 * hotels, my room was tiny but with sink and again really clean and the staff was really nice and helpful, I could check in earlier and leave my luggage there during the day when I was checking out. They even called Broadway theater for me because I wasn't sure if there is a dress code.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pavla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,811 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#191 of 468 in New York City
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing