We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #223 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I booked this hotel on Booking.com next time I'll use hotels website.Good location,less than $200 for 2 nights,private bath on Superbowl weekend. Quiet,clean what more could you want in this price range?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sligo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I do not write reviews too often but I felt this hotel needed to be reviewed. We arrived to NYC early so I called to see if we could check in early. The person that answered the phone was extremely pleasant and said we could check in early. He also gave us directions from Grand Central to the hotel ( a nice easy walk down Park Ave). When we arrived I asked for an upgrade if possible since we had 2 beds and shared bathroom. We were immediately upgraded to one bed and private room. Everyone we encountered were helpful and polite. The lobby wash all but I loved the old fashioned feel to it. The elevator was small but again I loved the vintage feel to it. The room was very clean and the view of the Empire State Building outside our bathroom window was gorgeous. The only complaint I had with the room included no ice on the floor..it's in the lobby and we were unable to control the heat. The heater made it stuffy in the room but nothing unbearable. I was happy to have the private bathroom, but walking past the floor bathroom I noticed it was very clean. I think we saw one other couple on our floor the entire time so I am sure the bathrooms are easy to share. If you are looking for a quaint, old fashioned hotel with great staff and a great location this is your place. I would absolutely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in November. We opted for shared bathroom which wasn't a problem at all and were lovely and clean!! Hotel has a lovely feel to it, just what we imagined a quaint little hotel in New York would be like!! We stayed in room 410 and could see the Empire State Building from our bed, looked fab all lit up at night!! Hotel is in a great location too, walking distance to Times Square and theres a subway two streets away if u didn't want to walk!! Staff were all really helpful too. All in all our stay was spot on and we would definitely stay at Hotel 31 again!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March 2013, I wasn't sure how I will like it because they have bathrooms on the floors but I was looking for something with good location, clean, cheap, with good reviews, really just to sleep in since I had 2 busy days in NYC and I was really happy, it wasn't busy so didn't have a problem using bathroom when I needed to, it was REALLY clean, cleaner than most 2 or 3 * hotels, my room was tiny but with sink and again really clean and the staff was really nice and helpful, I could check in earlier and leave my luggage there during the day when I was checking out. They even called Broadway theater for me because I wasn't sure if there is a dress code.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pavla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Metro just around the corner and it was easy to get there from JFK Airport. At the same time it was very close to good shopping areas and you could easely walk to Times Square and Grand Central Station.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Louisesiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Ethan P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed in a private room in Hotel 31 for 4 nights, and we believe it's a really good deal for Manhattan! Spacious rooms with little things that make one feel like at home (like, hangers you can actually take off the rail; a desk, a nice bed lamp. There was enough space and plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Maybe the neighborhood is not so exciting itself, but it's a short (under 10 minutes) walk to Broadway, 3 minutes walk to the metro, and not more than half an hour walk to any spot in Manhattan south from the Central park. I found a price of just under $120 a night (all taxes incl.) to be a real deal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZhuGurragchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,950 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#410 of 469 in New York City
551 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#320 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#203 of 469 in New York City
3,400 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#292 of 469 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing