We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price, not a bad location”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #227 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good for the price, not a bad location”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife & I spent one night at Hotel 31. We were satisfied and didn't experience any problems. This is not a fancy hotel, so as long as you're okay with a small room and going out in the hall to use the toilet or shower, you can save a lot of money. Our room did have a sink so we didn't need to used the shared bathroom for basic grooming. The building is fairly old, and I liked the old-fashioned gate on the elevator and the character of the wooden doors. The hotel is a reasonable distance from Penn Station and right around the corner from the subway. The Wi-Fi was usable but seemed a bit slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as some of the rooms only have a view of the alley. Probably better not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    763
    249
    58
    43
See reviews for
174
604
183
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We got a GREAT room with ensuite because we did not want a shared bathroom and even though I would pay the extra to do that again, the shared facilities were, indeed, spotless. We saw cleaning staff go into the washroom at 3 am....just to be sure! Comfy beds, LOTS of room for a NYC hotel room - NO bugs....close to subways and attractions. Got a discount (for being a guest of the hotel) for a fabulous resto around the corner (on Park Ave) - VERY reasonable rates and really good food. BONUS = the room was ready for us at 10 am!!!!! I will book this hotel again.

Room Tip: We booked the double and single bed room and were upgraded to two double beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

At the time I was booking a hotel in New York there were very few reasonably priced hotels ( and this was still quite expensive but is obviously the kind of price you have to expect in New York) so I had very little choice. I booked this two star with a little trepidation but needn't have worried. It was in an excellent position in mid-town Manhatten; 10 mins walk from both the Empire State Building and Grand Central Station. It looked fine from the outside, the reception was small but the staff were willing to keep our luggage if our room hadn't been ready. The room was a reasonable size, all you want for a city room. All very clean and everything you needed in the bathroom ( the towels were changed on the two nights we were there). Lots of accessible plugs to charge camera batteries!
My only reservation would be the position (beside the bed) of the air-conditioning unit for hot Summer nights, which could be quite noisy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moose081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed in Hotel 31 for 4 nights in a double room without private bathrooms as this is the best priced hotel in the mid-town manhatten during the period that i am visiting that is still within my usual room budget.

The hotel is situated at a good location along East 31 street between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue with the 33 street subway station (green line 6) just round corner at Park Avenue. This is very convenient for traveller using the air train and subway from the JFK airport. After exiting the Airtrain at Jamaica train, take the E train and change at Lexington Ave/53 street station to the 6 train for 2 more station and the hotel is just a couple of minutes of walk round the corner from the exit along Park Avenue.

I was allocated a double room on the 6th floor and it had queen size bed with a washing basin in it. The shared bathroom/toilet is just 2 rooms away. Beside TV and air conditioning (loud but working fine), there were not much facilities in the room except 3 coat hangers. Towers, soap and shampoo were provided and replaced/replenished daily.

The room was reasonably sized and clean and the shared bathroom was alway kept clean. Free wifi was also offered in the room. The hotel did not serve breakfast but there were several cafe and restaurants around for breakfast.

Overall, the stay was a pleasant one and it was recommended for budget travellers who want to stay in midtown for convenience purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SQFlyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This little refurbished hotel was a pleasure to stay at. It is only a short block from the subway #4,5,6 trains. We arrived into the city before 10 am and ask how early we could check in...they checked availability and let us check in immediately! Most hotels make you wait until near official check in time. The halls and stairs were narrow, as old buildings are, but the room was quite larger than expected. Everything was spotless and worked well. The whole place had been revamped but the decor kept it's old hotel charm. There was always someone around to help, and while we had a private bath, we saw the staff cleaning the shared bath constantly. I would have given top rating if only they had a lounge in the reception area for meeting up with friends of waiting around, otherwise it was perfect. The price was quite reasonable or we would not have even booked in the first place!

Room Tip: If it matters, make sure you check that your room has a private bath, as some of the rooms use a sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing