We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced... Even for Manhattan”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #228 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Overpriced... Even for Manhattan”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

BAD: Tiny room window looked out to a brick wall, NOISY airconditioner, no fridge or even tea/coffee facilities, not really that close to tourist attractions, 8min walk from Penn station is a lie- 8 min sprint maybe...

GOOD: Shared bathroom was clean and available most of the time, did have air conditioning, good maid service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Simon576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    777
    254
    58
    45
See reviews for
182
618
186
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in August, and then actually returned for 2 more nights in September when we returned to NYC and needed some unexpected accommodation. It really is a great little hotel, good location, 2 minutes from subway (the 6). You can walk a lot of places in Manhattan from here too if you fancy. We had a cosy room, and found the shared bathrooms always clean and available. This was all for an excellent price. Reminded us of a small old-school hotel in Paris. Really is a great place to stay if you are looking for budget accommodation in a central location, which is clean, cosy and safe. We'd go back again definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel has a good location. I could walk to Penn Station. And it was easy to get to Metropolitan museum on subway from there (no train change). The hotel is pretty basic, although it is clean. There was no view in the window - this is normal for the budget Manhattan hotels. The air conditioner is very loud. I had a room with a shared bathroom. I was on my own, without a family, so I didn't mind. But since I usually don't stay in rooms with shared bathrooms, I forgot to bring soap and shampoo with me to the bathroom. I kind of assumed it is available right in the bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mijas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel 31 is a cozy, clean, convenient and safe place to stay in. I will definitely go back again next time. The shared bathroom is well kept and tidy. The elevator is like those in old movies that you have to pull the steel door before opening the outside door. Most staff are warm and helpful, but one is indifferent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XIAOLE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect. The rooms are a bit small, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep, take a showe and visit the city it is a very good option according to the price. There is a metro station just around the corner, so that was really useful. In general terms, the service was good and the hotel met our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very good location in Midtown. The room and the common ares are clean which is especially important when you share bath room with the rest of the floor. Sharing the bath room was nonetheless not a problem because it was clean and always free when we wanted to use it. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ditte_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,851 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
3,291 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
632 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing