We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not worry about shared bathroom!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 478 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not worry about shared bathroom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were anxious about the shared bathroom but this was not a problem! It was cleaned extremely regularly. Our room was small but the storage facilities were good and the sink in the room was very handy. The staff we came across were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again as the location was so good - close to the subway but also ideal for walking north and south in manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovepeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    690
    227
    58
    41
See reviews for
148
544
161
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is a good, very clean basic hotel in a great location. Nice staff. The man who showed us to our room was about the same age as the hotel with a quirky sense of humour. Great value. Free WIFI. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katherinel774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wanted a cheap comfortable free wifi hotel in close proximity to transport and sites and restrains in NY and I didn't want to have to sell my kidney to afford it.. And that's what I got. Only 4 stars as nobody returned my emails to answer questions after booking this hotel. I did get an email (generic) a few days before I arrived welcoming me to their hotel which set my mind at ease some.
Would definitely stay again.
The room was super small but I was expecting that.
The bathroom down the hall was kept very clean and tidy the entire visit.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the elevator as it is old and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R055C0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pretty old style hotel in a great location for visiting the sights of New York city. We were there during those hot days of June. The room was small but very clean and cool with air conditionning. The staff was nice. WiFi good (and free). Excellent value for money in an expensive city. Ü

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 31 in March this year. Lovely old style hotel in a fantastic location for visiting the sights of NYC. The weather was bitterly cold, but the rooms were toasty warm. Room wasn't huge but spotlessly clean as was the bathroom (you could see the Empire State Building from the window). At the end of they day you don;t need a large hotel room, you won;t be spending much time in there. Excellent value for money in an expensive city. We will stay here again when we bring the children back. Try Shorty's (on the same street), delicious food, chips and a cheesy sauce to die for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Room was small but that i expected. Shared bathroom.never gone this route before and a bit concerned but no worries,only once did i have to wait,two bathrooms on the floor and they were both kept spotless, i am sure they were cleaned on the hour! Staff very polite and helpful Subway 5 minute walk away but buses are the way to go!

Room Tip: When walking at night a couple of blocks away you will see an unbelievable view of the Empire State...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#267 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,266 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Deauville
Hotel Deauville
#285 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#316 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing