We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but pretty busy”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #229 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but pretty busy”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location close to restaurants and the subway. Our room and the shared bathroom were very clean. There was however only one working bathroom on our floor which meant we often had to visit other levels. This also meant no sleeping in passed 8am as our room (712) was right next door to the closed bathroom and they were having fixed. We also had noisy neighbours on the otherside of us having a good old time at all hours of the night (if you get my drift). The hotel was very busy and we don't bother with the tiny elevator as it was always in use. Hotel staff were helpful but not friendly but it is NYC! Overall you get what you pay for and this hotel was priced as a hostel so I didn't have big expectations.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SheriseO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    776
    253
    58
    45
See reviews for
182
617
186
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Given the price we paid (and this being NYC, everything's relative), this was good value for money and a perfectly nice hotel, without going the extra mile.
We had a shared toilet/shower, but they were perfectly clean and never had a wait so it was not an issue. Room was tiny, but again was clean and had everything we needed (TV, wash basin, electrics etc). You don't go to New York to stay in the room anyways, so I would definitely stay here again. Good location too, 5 mins from Empire State.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank brum1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you dont want to spend too much money on a hotel in New York, but still want your own room. This is perfect. It is very close to the empire state building og has some cosy breakfast places right by.

The rooms were small and if you want the cheapest room you have to share bathrooms with the other rooms on the same floor. But in NY you dont want to spend your time in the hotel room, so this was perfect. It was clean, and the bed was ok.

It has a tv, air condition and the staff are very nice. They can also watch your luggage after checkout the last day. We even stored our extra luggage we didnt need while there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matskje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gees ( Holland)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a room with two beds and a private bathroom on the eighth floor. Adequate, clean, excellent double beds and pillows, friendly and helpful staff. Presence of coffee options. Bit noisy air conditioning, Little space in the room for suitcases. Only one chair. We missed a fridge. Great location with many restaurants and opportunities to use takeaway meals. The hotel is situated next to a small but excellent sushi restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Auke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

True it has no lobby, and no breakfast included. But it's cosy, the rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. And its location is excellent, being near all central spots in Manhattan. Compared to the price of other hotels this one is worth the money, I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,848 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 466 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#400 of 466 in New York City
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#193 of 466 in New York City
3,291 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 466 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing