We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 31
Nearby Hotels
$316
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$177
$170
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$400
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$236
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,629)
Filter reviews
1,629 results
Traveler rating
438
818
270
58
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
818
270
58
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomthe empire state buildingprivate bathnew yorksubway stationdouble bedrooms are smalllexington avetimes squarefew blockscentral locationmajor attractionsthe air conditioninglocation is greatsinkcosimanhattan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 1,629 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really a steal if you don't want to sleep. The location, cleanliness, even sharing a bath is fine here, it's just the beds are like rocks. Otherwise it was wonderful for the money. They even have a tiny elevator, so you can bring your luggage upstairs. Very helpful people. Towels could use some fluffing up as well.

Room Tip: bring your own bedding, otherwise great!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsilver4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This small hotel was only a few blocks from Times Square, Penn Station and Broadway. My room was small, but clean and the staff was great. The only problem I had was that my magnetic room card would not always work after the cleaning staff had been in to clean my room. The price was great and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cseagren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is not in midtown. It is between subway stations. Once you get to know the Manhattan subway, you realise only local trains stop at the nearest station (33rd street).

I would recommend you stay near 49th street - that's where there's a major train station.

I did a lot of walking, just to get anywhere.

The shared toilets had no soap. That proved very awkward.

The room was clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTraveller5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good location in midtown east in this modest but perfectly comfortable hotel. Helpfulness of the staff was faultless, especially an old guy called "Ziggy" a true New York character with wise cracks etc.
Room was quite small but adequate for our needs and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ged570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was on holiday with my boyfriend in NYC for 5 days and this hotel was perfect. Was a great location in a nice part of town, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room with free Internet and TV. We opted for the shared bathroom as it was cheaper, and I would advise anyone who is worried about sharing bathrooms to try it at this hotel as the bathroom was a lot better than some en suites I've had in the past, and we were glad we didn't bother paying more just for it to be attached onto our room (the bathroom was literally opposite our door and there were a few on each floor). With the heater- make sure you actually turn the radiator down as I read reviews on here where people complained of an overheated room, but it is possible to just take the cover off the wall and turn off the radiator!? quite simple! So all in all we had a great holiday and couldn't believe our luck with finding Hotel 31, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for shared bathroom- barely any different to having your own bathroom and a lot cheaper
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews