We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed to lay your head but not much else.”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #230 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bed to lay your head but not much else.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and my Girlfriend stayed in this hotel from Saturday night through till Tuesday. For a relatively cheap hotel, the room wasn't too bad, it was very small with only a sink, mirror and firm bed, but at least it was clean. The shared bathrooms are also very small but were cleaned daily and functioned fine. The hotel itself is in a convenient location, only a small walk to the nearest groceries store to pick up some essentials and a 5 minute walk to the bottom of 5th Ave, Times square is maybe a 25 minute walk away too. However, our entire stay was ruined by the completely obnoxious and unhelpful receptionists, I've never been made to feel so uncomfortable talking to a hotel manager in my life, a woman who was checking out at the same time as me stood open mouthed as he barked orders to her. We left a purse in our room and called 7 times while trying to return it, each time being told to call back again or sort it out with UPS- eventually we did, but no thanks to the manager who refused to acknowledge it had been there in the first place, thoroughly unsettling. For a cheap no nonsense hotel I'm sure you'll find it fine, but put some headphones on when walking through the lobby to avoid the staff.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get an early night, the doors are rather thin and you can hear EVERYTHING from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    776
    253
    58
    45
See reviews for
182
617
186
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A reasonably priced hotel for its location, I'm a keen walker so was happy walking to most of the attractions in and around New York, either that or get a ticket for one of the hop on hop off buses. It's small, a little shabby but has character and charm. My room was small but as a solo traveller only using it to sleep in it was more than enough - bathrooms are down the hall and shared with other guests which I have no problem with and my room had a sink which helped. I felt safe enough staying here as a solo traveller and would definitely consider staying here again. You get what you pay for and New York is not cheap so finding something affordable may not sit within your usual tastes but I would recommend this hotel to any solo traveller or couples.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for reasonably priced accommodation (which is quite a challenge in downtown new york) which was central and somewhere just to lay our head..very pleased with what we got. When we arrived, I was feeling a bit apprehensive about the shared bathroom situation but it was not an issue, that were spotlessly clean and as there were 2 on each floor, I didn't wait once, the wash basin in the rooms was very useful. Yes the decor is dated and rooms pretty snug, heating is on full and taps a little quirky but none of these things were an issue for us..it was a compromise we were prepared to make for the price and location..good little find :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to New York for a vacation and we stayed to hotel 31 which we had booked about a month before. The price was great and the location seemed good so even if it wasn't rated as one of the best in NYC we decided it was worth to try. Well I must say we were absolutely happy of this hotel!! The hosting was good, cleanliness very good, not noise at all, shiny bathroom. The location is just the best you can have, really close to everything. Subway, city centre, restaurants, shops, it is all a few minutes walking distance from there. Murray hill area is very nice, safe and by our personal opinion there are some of the best restaurants in the city.
The style is just the way it was when it first opened probably but who cares, as long as is well kept it is fine.
If you spend half of your time in the hotel this is definitely not the place for you but if what you really want is enjoying your time in the city and have a comfy, safe, clean and central place to sleep to, hotel 31 it's just the perfect deal.
Thumb up++!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravellerProWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydro1547
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend and I wanted to stay in New York for a couple of nights and wanted somewhere cheap but good value - this place was perfect! It is well located on 31st street and very close to the Metro station. The rooms were fine and the staff were really helpful - we even left our bags there for free on the last day and went back for them before our flight. Great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydro1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fantastic location if you want to be close to broadway etc. Room was very tidy and well presented, however they do suffer from bed bugs. Got bitten quite a bit, which is a shame as the room/hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 467 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 467 in New York City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
3,290 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing