We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect deal for your stay in NYC!!”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #228 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect deal for your stay in NYC!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to New York for a vacation and we stayed to hotel 31 which we had booked about a month before. The price was great and the location seemed good so even if it wasn't rated as one of the best in NYC we decided it was worth to try. Well I must say we were absolutely happy of this hotel!! The hosting was good, cleanliness very good, not noise at all, shiny bathroom. The location is just the best you can have, really close to everything. Subway, city centre, restaurants, shops, it is all a few minutes walking distance from there. Murray hill area is very nice, safe and by our personal opinion there are some of the best restaurants in the city.
The style is just the way it was when it first opened probably but who cares, as long as is well kept it is fine.
If you spend half of your time in the hotel this is definitely not the place for you but if what you really want is enjoying your time in the city and have a comfy, safe, clean and central place to sleep to, hotel 31 it's just the perfect deal.
Thumb up++!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravellerProWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    776
    253
    58
    45
See reviews for
182
617
186
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hydro1547
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend and I wanted to stay in New York for a couple of nights and wanted somewhere cheap but good value - this place was perfect! It is well located on 31st street and very close to the Metro station. The rooms were fine and the staff were really helpful - we even left our bags there for free on the last day and went back for them before our flight. Great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydro1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fantastic location if you want to be close to broadway etc. Room was very tidy and well presented, however they do suffer from bed bugs. Got bitten quite a bit, which is a shame as the room/hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The 31st Street is actually a great location in NYC if plan to know all the important areas of Manhattan without any special appointment, and, because of that, Hotel 31 gives you good value for your money. Nevertheless, all the rooms, carpets and furniture are considerably old and smelly. Luckily I was there during winter and accommodated on the 2nd floor, thus I did avoid the worst of the smell and the elevator (which looked kind of scary). If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, well located in center Manhattan and with a busy schedule (to make sure that your time there would be as little as possible), take it, great value. If not, I do not recommend it.

Room Tip: avoid rooms without a bathroom in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Extremely dated hotel, cramped lifts and the higher up you go the colder it gets and the more damp smelling it get. Only real 2 positives. Amazing location, central to everything and helpful staff. Glad I was only there one night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enigma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in a single private room (shared bathroom) for 8 nights. Room itself is decently clean and the room size was also not too small considering it was for one person. Had a small television to watch some movies and a sink for washing up. I didn't have any issues with the heater to adjust temperature in my room, unlike what i read. Although the bathroom was a shared facility, it was just next door and I never had to wait to use it. In fact, the bathroom and toilet was super duper clean, it feels as if they clean it almost every other hour! The hot-cold water was also easy to adjust too. Initially I was given a room which was facing a wall but the guy at the reception allowed me to view and change to my next room. I could see the top of the Empire State Building from my window. So cool!

Staying in such a big city and on 31st St, nothing comes cheap. But this hotel is actually value for money cos of it's accessibility -- subway station 33rd St is just minutes away. Can catch a train from here down to Chinatown or the Financial District (need to change train at Brooklyn Bridge station). You can also walk from the hotel to Times Square in around 20 minutes. Good way to view the city as you walk towards Times Square and Broadway. Koreatown along 32nd St West is also within walking distance. Oh ya, this hotel is just 2-3 units beside JYP Entertainment office!

You can also check with the guys at reception for some travel arrangements/tips/updates. They can also help you book the Super Shuttle back to the airport (around 1hr to JFK). Not those super duper friendly type, but they are ever willing to help and answer to your questions if you approach them.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor might get you a better view outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piggogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great little hotel that is very conveniently located.
Pros: Excellent location - 2min walk to 33rd St subway station, lots of cafes / restaurants close by, 5 min walk to empire state building, 15 min walk to Grand Central Station, 20-25 min walk to Times Square. The front desk staff are very helpful with directions. They also called my airport shuttle service for me to advocate on my behalf when the shuttle driver showed up 45 min early and then left. The rooms and shared bathrooms were very clean. There is a sink in each room, which is convenient. They supply you with soap, towels and shampoo. I was initially apprehensive about the shared bathrooms, but as per all the other reviews, the bathrooms are very clean. On occassion, you may have to go to another floor if the bathrooms on your floor are occupied. The free wi-fi connection worked well.
Cons: The beds are a bit uncomfortable, and the radiator tends to clunk intermittently. Also, strangely, there is no handsoap at the sink in the shared bathroom .....which is a bit unhygenic...any public washroom should have a hand soap dispenser....wonder how gross the door handles are!
Overall, this is a well-located, well-priced hotel that is very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the empire state building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP_traveller_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,844 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 467 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#402 of 467 in New York City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
3,289 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing