We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service, small Room, No Wardrobe”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #227 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    761
    247
    58
    43
See reviews for
173
603
180
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I chose to stay in this hotel as it was the cheapest hotel near to where my friends were staying. The Hotel is located very well, not to far from the empire state building. It was cheap and nothing to fancy. The receptionist was very friendly on arrival and was very helpful when asking for directions and nearest food shops. I had a single room on the 8th floor, i didnt have a the greatest view but it was still worth it for the price i was paying for the room. The room itself was spacious for one person, the sink in the room was handy as the bathrooms are located down the hallway. The shared bathroom situation wasnt a problem, there was nobody in there at the times i needed to use the bathroom - it was also kept very tidy and clean. I had one tiny problem with my hotel room and that was the fact that it got too hot. The heating was on a constant setting with no way of turning it down, which meant opening the window in the middle of the night to cool the room. My Room also had various sound effects, the heating hissed and the room creaked throughout the night.
The Wifi in the hotel is good, not the greatest or fast and struggles at peak times but it was free and did its job.
The resturants and shops located near the hotel are good, the nice pizza place called Vezzo just on the corner of the street is very nice, the deliver to the hotel or you can just order and pick up. I found the starbucks on lexington avenue on 24th Street very handy as it was situated between this hotel and my friends hotel.
Overall, i would stay in this hotel again if i ever plan a trip to New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nattynoonoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel looked old but it was really decent. Room was clean and tidy. Despite no priviate washroom in room, the shared washroom was clean and was almost always vacant. It would be better if hand soap was provided in the washroom. The location of the hotel was good, the nearest subway station was only 1 block away. I am very satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank VYF84 T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

i chose to stay here on price alone,i come to New york alot,and know how steep the price can get,i stayed in a single room 402,wow very small,but hey its new york,very clean room,no view,but who wants to stay inside all day,great wallpaper some would say dated,id say kookie!the only downsides to the room were,i kept getting static shocks of metal objects,and at times it was way too warm in the room,even when it was 25f outside,the adjoined door from the elevator nearly touched my door,the tv only came with 10 channels,no cbs?? no dave!??i was at the back,no street noise,i didnt feel it was a happy place,let me explain,ive stay at their sister hotel,Hotel 17,about 9/8 times,and there you get the sense its a fun place,maybee its me,Location Location Location,is excellent! if you want to see the iconic sights of Manhattan,i usually dont,i prefer the more bar/club life,i found the area dotted with restaurants and bars that were pricey,swanky neighbourhood tho,great little deli on the corner of the street,all in all i wouldnt stay here again,the price did it for me $60 a night! great budget place,be good for couples,not a george costanza type like me ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huffy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This little hotel is right in the middle of it all, but tucked away on a not so busy street. The spot was ideal for going anywhere in the city weather by bus or by subway. We had a great View of the Empire State Building right from our room. The rooms are quite tiny, but have a charming ambiance to them and even a little sink. The bathroom was immaculate, and never occupied so sharing it was not a problem. Climate Control is a bit tricky, as at first it was way too hot, but when we called, they were most helpful and came immediately and shut off the heat. We prefered fresh air and luckily the window did open. The spot was very quiet for NY, and the quality of the sleep was pretty good. All except for the pillow which, for me, was way too big and hard. Other than that, it was a perfect find and I'll definitly stay there again. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: when you face the street, the rooms on the left side have the view of the State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kindred_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Located just 10 minute walk from times square and just a couple of blocks from the empire state building. Staff are nice here. Funny little owner. Smallest elevator I've ever been in! The rooms are clean, a little dated but had a very New York feel to the whole hotel. Far from a luxury hotel, it is ideal for someone looking for a clean safe budget hotel close to the action. To be honest in a city like New York most visitors wont be spending that much time in the room during the day anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkjunkie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel 31 is located within a couple blocks of the Empire State Building and within walking distance of a lot of the main Manhattan touristy stuff. We walked to Times Square, Bryant Park, Central Park, NY Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Plaza, shopping, restaurants, etc. My cousin & I stayed here two nights. There are plenty of parking garages nearby if you need to leave your car. The rooms are nice - clean and comfortable, as others have noted. There is free Wi-Fi, although it was a little slow. There is a TV in each room. They also had i-pads at the front desk that could be rented for the day quite inexpensively. If you don't mind having a shared floor bathroom (still has a shower,) two can stay here for as little as $80-$100 per night. That is a great price for being in such a great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecoralcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Property: Hotel 31
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing