We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful monument

Right next to castle Clinton. Very beautiful and moving. Must see after coming back from Ellis... read more

Reviewed March 27, 2019
sdickey024
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Beautiful

I came to Battery Park with my boyfriend and sister. Beautiful area that I'm so glad I got to... read more

Reviewed June 27, 2017
Langlokt
,
New York
via mobile
Read all 16 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New York City
from $175.00
More Info
from $57.00
More Info
from $64.00
More Info
from $28.00
More Info
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
5
6
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5
6
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle clinton battery park ellis island figures nation sculptor emotions bronze capture statue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2018

Castle Clinton, now the NPS Headquarters in this part of NYC, was at onetime a gateway for new immigrants to the United States and this statue, a tribute from a child of one of those many who immigrated through this site, is a reminder that people have come to this nation to find a better life, with freedom to worship as you are call to do, to find a better life for your children, to break free of the chains of those who oppress others in body, mind and spirit. All of that is to be seen in the figures. Take your time, search their faces, touch their hands, feet and remember your ancestors who came here...remember their reasons for coming...and what they went through to get here, what they left behind, and what we have become.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

This bronze grouping by sculptor Luis Sanguino captures the hopes and fears of newly arrived immigrants to the United States. The figures also represent the diversity of those who chose to leave their homelands and include an Eastern European Jew and a freed African slave.The statue has been strategically placed near Castle Clinton in Battery Park, where immigrants got processed between 1855 and 1890.

Depicted figures include a man on his knees, arms raised high; a woman, who clasps a baby and looks toward the sky; and a man clutching a suitcase with his right hand over his heart. I found this work to be a moving portrait, having listened to my grandparents stories of their feelings when they arrived as immigrants at Ellis Island in the early 1900s.

When I saw this statue on a holiday weekend in October, visitors sat and stood on it, watching some nearby dancers. A few graciously moved briefly so I could read the inscription on the red granite base: Dedicated to the people of all nations who entered America through Castle Garden.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Located in the Battery Park at South tip of the Manhattan, it symbolizes the condition of immigrants between 1855 to 1890. It was sculptured by sculptor Luis Sanguino.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank seedhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

The Immigrants are commonly past but immigrants not understanding what it is. it's a great piece that it used more as a resting spot.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank JimDeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

I came to Battery Park with my boyfriend and sister. Beautiful area that I'm so glad I got to visit. It provides you with an area in New York that is a lot more laid back and relaxed. The statue is worth looking at, and there are many more statues/ historical monuments near by to check out (also many great restaurants) :)

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Langlokt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews