We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, hip room decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Ranked #250 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, hip room decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our second trip to the Indigo Chelsea. You have to walk through a garden to get to the front door -- the entrance is surrounded by plant wholesalers! The rooms are modern and clean, and the floors are laminate rather than carpet, a big plus in my book. Also, there's plenty of outlets, something that isn't so common in New York City hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suecassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    481
    158
    44
    29
See reviews for
173
428
119
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

First of all - let me say - if you are from Russia or you are Russian speaking - ask Natasha to get all the info you need to get all the best of NY ! Great person and she is really "the face of the company".

About the hotel:
- clean & quite rooms (ask for a higher floor)
- metro station just near the hotel
- between 6th and 5th - great location to see the city by walk
- lots of good food to have breakfast or dinner around

Come and stay! Higly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantuuroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff here. I am a fairly regular guest and they always greet me by name and remember things about my previous visit. The rooms are stylish with Aveeda amenities. Location is good, close to the 28th Street subway stops and near shopping. On the down side, They have had problems getting a restaurant going here. I have been to two attempts, the first one better than the second. I think there isn't a lot of foot traffic on the street so it's hard to get people to come in to eat. They also have a roof bar with a great view and it will be good next summer.

Room Tip: if you prefer a quieter room, ask to face away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Generally speaking, INDIGO represents a top quality brand and experience.

This one is good for the stay but not a five star hotel by any means. Loud outside noise, an underwhelming restaurant and older finishes all attribute to this rating. Only one elevator is currently working. The staff however is great and the restaurant team is excellent for breakfast.
Hint- make sure you ask for a high room on the opposite side of the street.
Otherwise, you will not get any sleep.




Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MichaelKoch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoChelsea, General Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear MichaelKoch66,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. We are happy to report that the restaurant is back open for our guests and that it is looking better than ever. We hope you can get a chance to come out and stay with us again and invite you to contact me directly to ensure your next stay with us us perfect. Thank you again,

Bill Mehalco

646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, going above and beyond expectations. I loved the central location of this hotel, it was perfect for my first trip to New York and I was able to explore the city by foot and subway.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 778YVRTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear 778YVRTraveller,

Thank you for your review on your hotel experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at our hotel! The staff at the front desk always put sincere efforts in giving their own personal recommendations when going about the city. We are close to many of the major subway lines here on our street and a quick walk over to the Highline Park, Heralds Square, Madison Square Park or Empire State Building to name a few. We all hope you come back soon!

Mariam Dar
646-484-4343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The location not so good, but the rooms are good size!
Renovation in the lobby irritated !
By the right side major construction didn't allow us to sleep ! Hard to get a cab . On the flower district !
Very different them others Indigo We stayed, still if the price is right you should go for!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Izabela7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Izabela7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms as we take great pride in our product and have high standards for cleanliness and service. I would like to apologize for the renovation noises in the lobby area during that day. I would like to happily let you know that all the flooring's have been finished and our restaurant is back up and running! In regards to hailing a cab, we have our bellman standing by to assist you with cabs you may need. However, during the hours between 5-6:30pm, there is the changing of the cabs where all cabs are turning over for their next shift. I have left my contact information if you would like to further discuss your stay. We hope to see you back!

Mariam Dar
646-484-4338
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay didn't get off to a great start as we arrived to check in at approximately 2pm and the guy at check in had to check with housekeeping which rooms were ready. They were also slightly pushy about where we had parked that it wasn't affiliated with the hotel. However our room was much bigger than the Sheraton that we had previously stayed at and our safe worked. Yes there is construction works going on next door but this did not hamper our stay in any way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jaclyn N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms as we take great pride in our product and have high standards for cleanliness and service. In regards to your check in, I would just like to remind you that our check in time is at 3pm. Our front office agents try their best to give early check ins to guest's arriving before 3pm and usually communicate with our housekeeping staff to make sure to get you into a room as quickly as possible. As for parking, being there so many parking regulations, there are many guests who park either on the road in the wrong zones and get ticketed or with other parking lots not affiliated with the hotel that are charged more. We always try to make sure that our guests, as well as their vehicles, are being taken care of. I will be sure to communicate to the staff to communicate this in a different manner. I apologize if they may have offended you in any way. If you would like to talk further about your stay, I am more than happy to listen to your suggestions. My number is below and please do not hesitate to contact me if you are back in the city!

Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4338
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#53 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#302 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#153 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#41 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#123 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Property: Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Address: 127 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing