We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Ranked #258 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay didn't get off to a great start as we arrived to check in at approximately 2pm and the guy at check in had to check with housekeeping which rooms were ready. They were also slightly pushy about where we had parked that it wasn't affiliated with the hotel. However our room was much bigger than the Sheraton that we had previously stayed at and our safe worked. Yes there is construction works going on next door but this did not hamper our stay in any way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jaclyn N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms as we take great pride in our product and have high standards for cleanliness and service. In regards to your check in, I would just like to remind you that our check in time is at 3pm. Our front office agents try their best to give early check ins to guest's arriving before 3pm and usually communicate with our housekeeping staff to make sure to get you into a room as quickly as possible. As for parking, being there so many parking regulations, there are many guests who park either on the road in the wrong zones and get ticketed or with other parking lots not affiliated with the hotel that are charged more. We always try to make sure that our guests, as well as their vehicles, are being taken care of. I will be sure to communicate to the staff to communicate this in a different manner. I apologize if they may have offended you in any way. If you would like to talk further about your stay, I am more than happy to listen to your suggestions. My number is below and please do not hesitate to contact me if you are back in the city!

Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4338
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    500
    169
    46
    34
See reviews for
186
442
121
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a stay at this 4 star hotel for a special occasion. When we arrived the lobby was covered in plastic for construction. The restaurant was under construction and not available. We were not informed of this prior to our reservation. The pipes rattled every time someone flushed a toilet. The hotel could even give us wake up calls after we requested them on two consecutive nights. They promised us the second night that we would get one the next morning - NONE. The mattress was hard. The hotel is not worth the money for the place and service and should be listed as a 2 stars tops.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Chad R,

Thank you for your review on your hotel experience. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and can completely understand the frustration that may have occurred. To address your issues we have had the pipes looked at first thing at the start of the week. We have also made sure that our automated wake up call servers have been checked. In regards to the renovations, we do have it posted on our websites that our restaurant is under renovations. On Tuesday, October 15th, our restaurant is in full operation once again. All renovations have been completed. I have taken note of your uncomfortable bed, as this will be addressed right away to housekeeping. I have placed my phone number below for your reference as I have not received a phone call in regards to your stay and would love the opportunity to talk. I hope we can have a discussion about your stay and again thank you for leaving your comments for us to act on.

Mariam Dar
646-484-4338
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location with oustanding service from frontdesk Nicole! Walking distance to many place's. Restaurant were not open at this time, but was okay by us.Thanks again and we will see you soon!...............................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing one night stay at the Hotel Indigo. Very friendly front desk staff/bellman. Rooms were HUGE! We had a room on the 11th floor. The only thing I can complain about was the subpar breakfast buffet, but it was free during our stay. Beggars cant be chooser. Otherwise it was an amazing stay, will def be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CITYGUY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights over a busy weekend. Check in was easy and fast, I was in my room within five minutes. The room is larger than most NYC rooms in this price range. Overall awesome stay and great service...will be back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, OH
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

After being knocked to the ground by a speeding cyclist coming from Penn Station, the front desk at the Hotel Indigo were so attentive! They immediately got me an ice pack, extra ice in a plastic bag and took our bags to our room. When I came down later, they asked how I was feeling and offered their services if I needed anything else.
The bell boys went out of their way to hail a cab for us, going all the way to the cross street as we were there during UN General meeting week and everything was gridlock!
The rooms were CLEAN (yes small--but all we do there is watch TV, unwind, sleep and shower), comfy and accommodating.
I will (and already have) recommended it to a friend.

Room Tip: We were in the front and the noise did not bother me. We were on the 4th floor but i enjoy looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pstirnkorb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over 2 nights for a shopping trip with a friend. We were given a room on the 4th floor but found it noisy so we were moved to the 10th floor after one night. As stated in previous reviews the rooms are small but clean. The second morning of our stay the phone rang a 7 am. My friend answered ,the person on the phone said she was calling from the lobby and needed to confirm credit card information. Without thinking my friend gave her credit card number, then became suspicious and went down to the front desk. The person at the front desk said he knew nothing of the call, she called the credit card company an unauthorized charge had already been posted but the charge was reversed and the card cancelled. The staff on duty could not have cared less about this scam. They said it happens all the time. When I asked how the call got to our room they said the phone service may have been hacked. Another explanation was that we were targeted because we are Canadian. There was no attempt by the hotel to report this attempted fraud to the authorities or warn other guests. When my friend spoke to the hotel manager she asked her what she expected her to do about it. Over all we were left with the impression that the hotel staff was in on the scam. I have gone on line and discovered that this has happened at other hotels around the country, in most instances the the hotel reports the crime to the authorities and take measures to make sure it does not happen again. I cannot reccomend this hotel and would advise others to stay away. A crime was committed on hotel property and no action was taken to prevent it from happening again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmomOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear travelmomOntario,

Thank you for your review on your hotel experience. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and can completely understand the frustration that may have occurred. To address your issues we have contacted our main switchboard to screen incoming calls to our hotel. I have placed my phone number below for your reference as I have not received a phone call in regards to your stay and would love the opportunity to talk. I hope we can have a discussion about your stay and again thank you for leaving your comments for us to act on.

Mariam Dar
646-484-4343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#100 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#60 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#151 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#59 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#259 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#312 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Property: Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Address: 127 W 28th St, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing