We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Generally good hotel by NY standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Ranked #248 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Generally good hotel by NY standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a tour round the US east coast.

The price was high and did not include breakast, but given the size of rooms in NYC we've experienced in the past, the room here was really pretty big, clean and well equipped with mini-bar etc etc. The location was also good (if the street itself is a little ugly - it is NY remember) and had plenty of options for breakfast. The wifi was the fastest we'd had on the trip.

We ordered a snack from room service which ended up being some pretty poor salsa and tortilla's which was a bit disappointing given everything else about the hotel being decent.

Overall, it's a bit on the expensive side, but was more or less exactly what we wanted it to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tluamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear tluamiani,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodations and internet service. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations particularly with the room rates and food selections you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back upon returning to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    487
    161
    44
    30
See reviews for
179
431
120
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

On town for theatrical release premier of Love Sick Love @ the Quad Cinema. Location was excellent. Rooms were clean, hardwood floors, very nicely sized, king bed/comfortable/many pillows. Bathroom had double shower heads, open, clean & well-maintained. EXCELLENT WATER PRESSURE. There is a club on the ground floor from which we could hear music, albeit faint but discernible. No problems falling asleep, however, it is New York. We have already recommended ths hotel to others & will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was quite the change from the best western we stayed at in nyc the last time we were here. Great room, clean, wifi, secure. I'd stay here again. Felt like a room you'd find in Las Vegas. Sort of new and hip. The front desk staff was very helpful and seemed to enjoy their job. Typically it looks like this place going for somewhere around 200 a night but for some reason we were able to nail it down for about 150. Great price. Probably right where in needs to be as far as price point.

Room Tip: Room 508 doesn't have much for a view of nature but if you like the New York look of fire escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel had been recommended by a client and I am so happy we stayed there this past weekend. The décor is so cool and the rooms so clean! They have hardwood floors and the bathrooms look as though they are brand new. The service was unbelievable. And, the location made it easy to get to the places my daughter and I wanted to visit. We were only one block from the subway and that made it easy when we wanted to travel that way. I really like having a go to place to stay for each city to which we travel. And, this is ours for New York. To make it even better, the price was really reasonable. My friend who has lived in New York for 25+ years was impressed with the hotel; and, this fact alone speaks volumes--because New Yorkers are not easily impressed!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfletcher4393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear cfletcher4393,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed the services that we have provided and am thrilled that you liked our location. I will pass your kind words along to the team here and we hope to see you back!

Thank you very much for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to stay with us in the future.

All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a great hotel and superbly fresh and clean.

Staff were great and couldn't do enough to help (including upgrading me as platinum member).

The room was gorgeous and immaculately clean, not to mention the decoration both inside my room and in public areas was fab.

There is also a rooftop bar which was modern and reasonably priced, but this bar didnt seem to be an 'in place' to go on Staurday night (which lets face it is a bonus a resident!)

Will defo stop here again on my travels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveGrid2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear SteveGrid2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay us! I will pass along your kind words to our staff, as well as the rest of the team here that made your stay with us memorable. Thank you very much for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to stay with us in the future.

All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for a conference. Location was good. Staff was rude. Should have run upon walking in, as it just got worse...
Small, dirty rooms. Not at all a four star. Better off staying at the Hilton garden inn next door as my colleagues did. It was MUCH nicer!
Don't be fooled by their attempt to be boutiquey. This place is a joke.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newwavegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Newwavegirl,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback positive or negative, and will do our best to address any issue. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience with the staff. I will be sure to bring this up in our monthly meetings with the front desk, for this is definitely an issue to discuss. I wish you brought this to my attention so we could have addressed this issue. Thank you for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to further discuss your stay.


All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is not a four star hotel. . The TV didn't work, nor did the air conditioner. When we were comped $15 of mini bar items, we realized the mini bar was broken. Nothing in it was cold. The front desk people were not polite.

There is no valet parking so we had to walk a block in the rain to get our car.

The positives were the restaurant was very good, the parking was $15, and the bellhop was courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mary H,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback positive or negative, and will do our best to address any issue.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for no assistance with your car and the rude service you received during your stay. We do have valet at the hotel and I am surprised that no one assisted you with this. Regarding your Mini Bar fridge and TV, we have had engineering go through each room last week to make sure all is well and working.

Feedback to us at the Hotel Indigo is very important and we take all guest comments seriously. Thank you for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to further discuss your stay.


All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#76 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#46 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#149 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#307 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#128 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Property: Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Address: 127 W 28th St, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing