We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“good space for NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Ranked #248 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good space for NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were surprised at the spaciousness of the room compared to other hotels in NYC. Although we faced a fire stairwell and an office window there was plenty of sun. The area is an eclectic mix of floral supply houses complete with the early morning bustle of merchandise on the sidewalks and high energy wholesale transactions of stores and restaurants picking up their shipments.
The room was well appointed, modern, and clean. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit cramped but doable. The sinktop did not have room to leave makeup items but luckily I travel with a hanging toiletry bag. They were slightly skimpy on towels.
The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. They didn't have a problem with a late checkout.
I'd stay again if doing business in that area.

Room Tip: The restaurant attached to the lobby is not your best bet for breakfast. We had 2 boxes of cereal, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    487
    161
    44
    30
See reviews for
179
431
120
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and were sorry to leave. Staff very helpful and professional. We had some issues with a number of things not working (Internet in room was not reliable so we were relocated - thanks Jay) and while it would have been better if there had been no problems these were sorted out. Rooms are bright & comfortable, bathroom fine (not sure why so many have issue with the shower configuration) and the roof top bar was perfect place to recall our daily outings. We would definitely stay here again due to the location and friendly smiling staff

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but higher rooms at the front have wonderful sunny aspect (and some li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a trip scheduled for Indigo the weekend after Sandy struck. We couldn't get a consistent answer from the reservation system and there was no answer by calling direct. It appeared that since the property is in Chelsea area that it was in the middle of the lower Manhattan power outage but looking at the Con Ed outage map we couldn't be sure. It was very frustrating that we couldn't get a straight answer from the 800 reservation system but that's about where our frustration ended.

It was a great and memorable trip.

We've stayed at this, as well as other Indigo's before, and seek them out. As I said we were concerned that when we called the 800 number one agent would say yes they're open and then we'd call back and another would say no they had had no contact since Monday and they were closed. Finally on Thursday evening (the night before we were to leave) I emailed the hotel directly. Yes I should have done this before but I assumed since I couldn't reach them via phone then email wouldn't work either. But I got a nice note back from the GM about 30 mins later saying the hotel was operational.

I'll cut to the chase--we arrived checked in and left our bags (it was mid morning). When we came back around 3 our room was ready. The only two hiccups we had were that there was very limited housekeeping services available--which there were signs advising this--so we ended up with only 1 bath towel the first night. The second involved the internet not working on Friday night but by Saturday it was on. Likewise when we returned to the room Sat afternoon from being out our room was made up (we'd actually made our own bed not thinking we'd see anyone from housekeeping) and we had 2 towels!

The hotel was jam packed (we noticed a couple of TV celebrities staying there, as well as some city residents--my assumption was their power was out but was very quiet (we were on the 10th floor). Even though I'm sure everyone working there was stressed from how busy the property was to worrying about their own families and homes it didn't show. The staff was great as always--although we tried to stay as low maintenance as we could.

So it was a great stay even with the record breaking storm.

As a side note re NYC; it was great. The subways didn't run south of 34th until Sunday morning but everything uptown was running, albeit busy and slow. But the property is in a great location that's close to the action yet far enough removed that you don't feel like a tourist. If you like walking it's in a nice neighborhood. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the east side each time--there's no view but it was quiet on the 10th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiocoalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel, nicely located, well-apportioned rooms and easy check-in, etc. Absolutely would stay here again. The only negative is the onsite restaurant isn't very good, but that's not a major problem when there are so many places to eat within easy walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egswanso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

After 2 nights of anxiety, cold and discomfort in the dark following Hurricane Sandy I was delighted to find a room at the Indigo. When I asked if I could get a good rate based on being senior, disabled and ex airline staff, I was given a better rate. I found the room to be warm and comforting with fine amenities. I was especially delighted by how bright, friendly and accommodating every member of staff was. Special requests were met. An an older guy, I found all these young people to be terrific. I wear braces on my legs which are not visible but carry a crutch, which is, of course. At a time when just being comfortable seemed a luxury I found so many people ready to help out...like the Bellman who ran to the corner to get me a taxi when I checked out. I've traveled around the world but I've never stayed in a hotel in New York. If this is an example, then I feel I'm encouraged. I don't have all the names, but Hanna and Jay at the front desk, Tracy (I think) and Iris at the restaurant, the gentlemen who delivered my meals and the Bellman on morning duty on 03NOV, have my gratitude.
If I may...the only thing I'd change is the overhead rain shower. Maybe esthetic in theory, but really not practical, especially with today's lo-flo plumbing. And too high to adjust. But that's a minor thing.
I'd recommend the hotel without hesitation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good hotel. Very clean rooms, nice and helpful stuff, location great for all parts of Manhattan. About 20-30 min walk to central park, same to Greenwich village. For price we paid (360 for 2 nights) it was the best! Nice rooftop bar. Lots of places around

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewSuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great hotel! Clean, convenient and great service! Check in was was quick and pleasant! Room was decorated very nice, lots of towels, wine glasses (no plastic cups) roof top bar, was really cool way to spend the evening! Great location, restaurants, shopping, walking distance to alot of sites. Felt safe and wasn't noisy for sleeping! Would suggest to anyone and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were on street side 6th floor no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njbelle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#76 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#46 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#149 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#307 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#128 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Property: Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Address: 127 W 28th St, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing