We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every cent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #214 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every cent!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The staff was always very professional, helpful and friendly. The room I stayed in, in my opinion made after staying in a few other NYC hotels, was a very nice size! I was quite surprised! The terrace on the roof is a very nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel. I am planning a return trip to the city and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Silkartist,

Thank you so much for the review! We're elated that your stay went great and can't wait to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    234
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
127
239
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room, albeit small, was superbly clean, well-appointed and well located. I loved the contemporary furnishings and clean lines of the room and bathroom. The staff was welcoming and provided excellent service and recommendations. All the places we wanted to visit were within comfortable walking distance -- Times Square, Central Park and the subway. Just the right combination to make for a enjoyable stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txadmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Txadmom,

Thank you for the great comments! I will surely pass them along to the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff!

See you next time!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice rooms, bigger than in other hotels in the area.
Quiet street at night.
The hotel is small but nice, new and clean.
Really well located, in walking distance from all the main attractions in Manhattan.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 250jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff was amazing and very helpful! They helped us find restaurants and sightseeing tickets. Our room was Very clean and modern. the hotel is in a great location.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, and seemed very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Storh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Storh,

Thank you for the comments and the recommendation! See you next time you are in New York!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel! Great location with easy access to the subway and all the famous mid town stores including Bloomingdales, Saks Fifth Avenue, Bergdorf Goodman and Barney's. Room was good size for a single and had a mini frig which was handy during my mid summer stay. The bathroom had a great shower and good towels. The lighting in the bathroom was a little poor, which I was aware of by reading other reviews. The roof top deck was phenomenal! Got my coffee and pastry each morning and went up to the deck to enjoy my breakfast and view!
The only negative is that since my room was facing the street, it was a bit noisy. Next time I would get a room at the back of the building. I also prefer access to an ice machine, which they did not have- I had to call for ice. Not a big deal.
Overall, an excellent experience and would definitely stay there again!!! Very happy overall!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanjanejewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Susanjanejewels,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property! We will be sure to accommodate you with a room in the back of the building next time!

See you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We'll have to echo other positive reviews - our room was clean, comfortable, quiet and to our surprise - pretty spacious. The bathrobes are a nice touch.

Staff were always helpful and friendly.

Don't get me wrong - it's conveniently located - but after dark the area is pretty lifeless. However this is easily remedied - head to the night spots.

We booked via Hotel.com and received a discounted rate. While it's a little more pricey compared to other hotels, the room size and hotel location makes it good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive Queen room 306 was quiet and pretty spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASXSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear ASXSA,

Thank you so much for your comments! I'm very glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay. It is unfortunate that our neighborhood doesn't provide much entertainment; hopefully that changes in the near future!

Look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are good size and clean. Comfortable bed. The hotel itself is quiet, no slamming doors etc. Although there is a lot of noise from traffic. Lovely terrace on the top floor. The hotel doesn't offer breakfast, but there are plenty of options nearby. Free WIFi. Convenient location, few metro stations nearby.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank myholidays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello myholidays12,

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your time at the Carvi New York. Hope we will see you again in New York or in Portugal.

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
1,226 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,097 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,059 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#141 of 467 in New York City
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing