We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Just right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #167 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room, albeit small, was superbly clean, well-appointed and well located. I loved the contemporary furnishings and clean lines of the room and bathroom. The staff was welcoming and provided excellent service and recommendations. All the places we wanted to visit were within comfortable walking distance -- Times Square, Central Park and the subway. Just the right combination to make for a enjoyable stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Txadmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Txadmom,

Thank you for the great comments! I will surely pass them along to the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff!

See you next time!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    210
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
114
216
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice rooms, bigger than in other hotels in the area.
Quiet street at night.
The hotel is small but nice, new and clean.
Really well located, in walking distance from all the main attractions in Manhattan.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 250jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff was amazing and very helpful! They helped us find restaurants and sightseeing tickets. Our room was Very clean and modern. the hotel is in a great location.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, and seemed very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Storh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Storh,

Thank you for the comments and the recommendation! See you next time you are in New York!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel! Great location with easy access to the subway and all the famous mid town stores including Bloomingdales, Saks Fifth Avenue, Bergdorf Goodman and Barney's. Room was good size for a single and had a mini frig which was handy during my mid summer stay. The bathroom had a great shower and good towels. The lighting in the bathroom was a little poor, which I was aware of by reading other reviews. The roof top deck was phenomenal! Got my coffee and pastry each morning and went up to the deck to enjoy my breakfast and view!
The only negative is that since my room was facing the street, it was a bit noisy. Next time I would get a room at the back of the building. I also prefer access to an ice machine, which they did not have- I had to call for ice. Not a big deal.
Overall, an excellent experience and would definitely stay there again!!! Very happy overall!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanjanejewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Susanjanejewels,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property! We will be sure to accommodate you with a room in the back of the building next time!

See you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We'll have to echo other positive reviews - our room was clean, comfortable, quiet and to our surprise - pretty spacious. The bathrobes are a nice touch.

Staff were always helpful and friendly.

Don't get me wrong - it's conveniently located - but after dark the area is pretty lifeless. However this is easily remedied - head to the night spots.

We booked via Hotel.com and received a discounted rate. While it's a little more pricey compared to other hotels, the room size and hotel location makes it good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive Queen room 306 was quiet and pretty spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASXSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear ASXSA,

Thank you so much for your comments! I'm very glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay. It is unfortunate that our neighborhood doesn't provide much entertainment; hopefully that changes in the near future!

Look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are good size and clean. Comfortable bed. The hotel itself is quiet, no slamming doors etc. Although there is a lot of noise from traffic. Lovely terrace on the top floor. The hotel doesn't offer breakfast, but there are plenty of options nearby. Free WIFi. Convenient location, few metro stations nearby.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank myholidays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello myholidays12,

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your time at the Carvi New York. Hope we will see you again in New York or in Portugal.

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a trip for my Husbands birthday and we stayed at the Carvi Hotel 20th June to 28th June 2013 , it was a perfect hotel for us. The staff were so very welcoming , kind and helpful without exception. I think KAZLET sums it up perfectly by saying it is clean, comfortable and caring. We stayed in Room 703 and it was ideal, on the top floor, not far from the lovely roof terrace which we really enjoyed. We would not hesitate to stay at this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello suzyp8,

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel! We hope to spend many more birthday's with you. See you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#143 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#57 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#175 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#152 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#135 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing