We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #222 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff were nice enough. Sometimes helpful! We arrived past midnight and were welcomed to our tiny room for 3 with a surprise poop in the toilet. Thank you for flushing! Location was perfectly fine. Close to Central Park, Time Square and metro stops close by. I wont bother going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sanjra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    232
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
123
239
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice little hotel in a great section of Manhattan.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
The rooms are small but very clean and the bed is very comfortable.
There is free Wi-fi and a nice little roof top terrace.
I will definitely stay at the Carvi again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everyone working the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We arrived exhausted from a red eye, and asked for an early check-in. The lady at the front desk was very accommodating. The room wasn't ready right at that moment, but she told us to come back in a couple of hours. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The Carvi is located in a great neighborhood, with lots of sights and restaurants within walking distance. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jody9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed one night in the Carvi on our way through New York and a very pleasant stay it was too. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and it had free wifi - can't ask for much more, really. The location is handy too - and P.J. Clarke's is just down the block if you fancy a good bite to eat!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor next to the open roof patio. It was cold so no one was using it but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbagesofdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Carvi for 2 nights. The staff were welcoming and considerate. The rooms were clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The location, between Lexington and Third Venue was a great base from which to walk to see the highlights of New York. We would not hesitate to stay again if we were to return to New York. With the pound being so weak against the dollar currently,Hotel Carvi represented great value for a short stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Rooms a little on the small side but very comfortable. Room 603 very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my second time in New york, i was looking a hotel near everything. if you’re looking for a great location with clean and stylish rooms, then the Carvi works but don't,expecting all the amenities....restaurant, concierge, Spa. It near the metro station and easy to walk around to most attractions (Bloomingdales, Saks, Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central Terminal). My room looked out over the main road below (4th floor), but the noise was not an issue. The bed is very comfortable and there is an armoire unit and lots of drawer space. Bathrooms are bright with great showers The room comes equipped with a safe,coffee machine, refrigerator with beer, bottle of water and snacks that are modestly priced. Also, there is an iron and board. Rooms aren’t big but they are adequate and a lot has been considered in the design. Furnishings are very trendy and practical. Staff was very professional and helpful for getting us where we needed to go. I saw that they have rooftop patio but i didn't get there because it was little bit cool. I like this hotel because is easily accessible and is close to everything. Even the hotel doesn't have all the amenities this is what is great is that there are many shops and restaurants around the hotel: Starbuck at the corner of the street, not far bakery, restaurant Indian's face and hand: a Chinese restaurant and pizzeria to eat more quickly when you are tired after long hours of walking!

A tip: take good walking shoes because we do everything in NYC on foot! Not far from the hotel there are metro stations (which is great do not hesitate to take subscriptions week for unlimited subway and bus!).

Room Tip: Ask the 4th floor, really nice room and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yo1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VIrginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a wonderful little find right in the middle of Manhattan. If you are expecting all the amenities – restaurant, concierge, spa, etc – this isn’t the place for you. But if you’re looking for a great location with clean and stylish rooms, then the Carvi works. Rooms aren’t big, but they are adequate and a lot has been considered in the design. Furnishings are very trendy and practical.

Carvi is a European-style property. The lobby is small – just a front desk, a couch and a laptop. I didn’t see the rooftop patio because it was too cold. Since there is no restaurant you must find a place for breakfast. We were directed to La Baguette on Lexington Ave., just a ½ block away – great fruit salad bar, bakery goods and hot items, like waffles and croissant sandwiches. Right across the street from the hotel is a the Lychee, a Shanghai-Chinese restaurant which was very good and not expensive. If there is room service, it isn’t evident as there was very little in the way of information about the hotel – not even a pen or piece of paper to write on. So obviously – no menu! Bed is very comfortable.

Rooms have bright lights on both sides of the bed for reading. There is a desk but no real seating area in the room. Some rooms do have a chair but the one I had, did not. It did have a queen sized bed and I never felt cramped. There is an armoire unit and lots of drawer space.

Bathrooms are bright with great showers! You can adjust the pressure in the shower which is a nice feature. Lighting is a little odd. There is no light near the shower and the one over the sink could use a higher wattage.

The room comes equipped with a safe, refrigerator and snacks that are modestly priced. Also, there is an iron and board.

Don’t look for magnificent views. My family had a room in the front over looking the street; mine was in the back, looking into an office building. But it was certainly quiet.

It’s a hotel that I will stay at again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussylady001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#154 of 468 in New York City
1,201 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#122 of 468 in New York City
2,062 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 468 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#145 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing