We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for a decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #214 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice hotel for a decent price”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The place was clean and well maintained. The room was a little small, but it's Manhattan so that's to be expected. For one person it was quite comfortable. Very good value for the price.

The room service dinner, provided by Midtown Restaurant, was average at best, so I'd avoid it. And although the concierge offered to call a car to get me to JFK airport, it was much cheaper and probably not much slower to take the subway and airtrain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABjorndahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    234
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
127
239
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well-located, mid-priced, with a simple, chic interior - The Carvi is a great find.

The rooms are small (think European-size) but clean, modern, and comfortable. Most New York hotels in the same area will cost much more or be far less satisfactory. And what you're really paying for is the excellent location - walking distance to 5th Ave, Rockefeller Plaza, key metro stops, and numerous restaurants.

The only downside of my stay was the service - one employee in particular (Marcos, the evening receptionist.) Upon our arrival, we found our toilet did not flush. When we came down to report this incident, he was completely disinterested and said they were all booked and couldn't switch our room. We called hotels.com to report the problem, and THEY then called the hotel to demand something be done or they would find us alternate lodgings - at which point the receptionist rang our room to say "we'll send a plumber in the morning, for now just come use the restroom in the lobby." The problem was fixed (at 8 pm the following evening), and the rest of the stay was without incident.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Carvi. Aside from one employee's lack of customer service, the hotel offered clean, pleasant lodgings for a decent price point.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vanilla27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over Christmas break. Carvi hotel was clean, had rooms in great condition and a friendly staff (many spoke Portuguese and its owner is Brazilian). The beds were very comfortable (firm) and the towels were nice and soft.

The rooms were tight by American standards, but thats was expected for the Manhattan area. Everything looked fairly new, which was great.

The front desk area was clean and had a nice modern look (as did the rooms). Even the stairs were clean, well-lit and even smelled like lemon lime cleaning product.

Its located within walking distance to all major attractions in midtown manhattan (Times Square, Empire State, etc). I parked at the garage two buildings down the street, which has partnered with the hotel. If I had more time, I would have looked for a cheaper garage, as it cost $35/night with the measly $2 discount from the hotel.

I recommend it to anyone looking for something clean, in new condition, and close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomebodyAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Carvi Hotel a few months ago, and had an upsetting issue with the hotel manager, which was not handled properly or professionally at the time. After writing a review on Trip Advisor about our bad experience, the owner of the hotel contacted us and resolved the issue with the utmost professionalism, courtesy, and grace. The hotel is located in a great part of the city. Our room was very clean, and attractively appointed. We will stay there again, thanks to the owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to New York for 4 nights on a pre Christmas break. Prior to going we chose the hotel and then checked it out on Trip Advisor. As a result of this when we arrived at the hotel we knew what to expect. The room was small compared to other rooms we have stayed in but it had a large bed, a wardrobe , bookcase, a bedside table and a set of drawers upon which the tv was on. The en-suit was fine. Both rooms were very clean and tidy. Housekeeping every day and the towels changed every day.Air conditioning in the room. The reception area was very clean and kept well. We had occasion to speak to three different receptiontists and on each time they were very helpful.
Would we stay at the Carvi again ? If we went to New York again we would consider it. Would we recommend it to other people. Again, yes but would state that just because we liked it and enjoyed our stay it does not mean they would.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonFrancisWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JonFrancisWhite,

Good to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in New York and at Carvi. We are glad that the hotel met your expectations, and hopefully you stay with us again so that the expectations can be exceeded!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Great location! Close to 53 & Lexington subway stop. Very quiet, wonderful beds, linens, and towels. Staff was very, very helpful. Had suggestions and directions for us on travel to Giants game, restaurants, etc. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Pam C,

Wish I could write a better review myself, wow! See you next time you are in New York!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I only stayed one night for a business trip. But I thought the Carvi was solid quality. It was my first stay but they upgraded my room without an additional charge. The room itself was fairly spacious, modern and well furnished. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. It's too bad there isn't a lounge area to get a drink or a snack. But as other reviewers mentioned, the hotel's location is quite central to lots of place to eat. I did use the diner across the street for breakfast. It was delivered promptly. But the quality of the food was so-so. If I had to offer a criticism of the hotel, it's that the walls and floors are not very sound poof. So, you can hear a lot of movement and noise. Whoever was in the room above me was, unfortunately, a night owl and I could hear their pounding footsteps quite clearly. But still, overall, a nice small hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for the a mezzanine level room ( there are only two). The rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfc8568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear lfc8568,

First off, thank you for the great review of the Carvi! Sorry to hear that the noise from your neighbors bothered you, hopefully we can work on that next time you are with us, don't hesitate to mention that to our front desk staff. The desk staff is also very knowledgable about the city so feel free to ask them about any lounges or bars nearby that would suit you best! See you next time!

Regards,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
1,226 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,061 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,097 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing