We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly staff and clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Ranked #316 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Originally booked a five night stay during the week of Halloween. great location to begin with a stroll down to wall street, battery park and the WTC, along with the other surrounding neighborhoods in the lower manhattan part. Subways and bus stops are very close just a few minute walk and water taxies.

Now regarding the Hotel the lobby is small, the rooms are small even the double. but then again it's NYC rooms tend to be small. I Traveled here with family (4) on our second visit to NY. I had read mixed reviews on the hotel prior to booking so I was a bit concerned and skeptical on what to expect upon arival to the hotel. Small lobby and hallways, the rooms are small but cozy and comfortable, had Ac and heater system, flat screen t.v. Most importantly free WiFi, the bathroom was very tiny I think 5mm more and the door hits the toilet seat. Friendly and helpful staff..

The hotels restaurant is medium size with a bar, ate here only for breakfast twice, the food was ok, (personally I believe it needed more seasoning) otherwise it was good. I believe the hotel also has a gym? But not sure since there was no time.

As mention I originally had booked a 5 night stay but ended up staying an additional 3 nights due to hurricane Sandy who came along and caused some damage and shut down the airports. The hotel managed to work out our extended stay for the additional days along with giving us a discounted price which made our stay and pockets happy. "During the power blackout in lower manhattan" the hotel maintained open but with out power only generators the powered the hallways but not the rooms. This part of my review is based on how the hotel managed and how well planned are they during a natural disaster or such other event.

To continue, no power in our rooms, so nights were a very quite and boring and somewhat cold for about 4 nights, only a drizzle of cold water came out of the shower. Some rooms toilet system worked and some did not. The hotel continued to provide clean towels. The staff was very helpful and attentive during this event they allowed guest to charge cell phone batteries in the lobby using a power strip that connected to I would guess a generator. Only one elevator worked, the hotel did provide free goodies at the entrance of the lobby, fresh fruit, bottles of water, cup cakes, cookies and crackers. Great job!
Overall the hotel did a great job. However I believe they could had at least tried to power up the rooms (using the generator) that were occupied, so that guest would not be in the dark or even some hot water.

To finish, my overall experience and stay at the Holiday Inn went great, great location, walking distance to many great restaurants, rooms are small but hey who travels to NYC and stays in the room? Friendy and helpful staff, and therefore I would possible consider in staying here again if I go back to NYC. I recommend this hotel, for the price you can't ask for much.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sam2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review my hotel. As you stated, my staff did a wonderful job during the Hurricane Sandy; I am very proud of them. Thanks again for your kind review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    310
    132
    25
    29
See reviews for
141
187
58
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham / Nuneaton Uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed her 19th Oct 2012 for 2 nights in room 2001 on the 20th floor, from the moment we arrived we were treated extremely well by all of the staff on the front desk especially Leslie. The room was fine but could have done with another wardrobe. The hotel is in a quiet area of lower Manhattan. We had breakfast on both mornings in the restaurant/bar which was good and reasonably priced.
To get around the city we purchased a metro card to enable us to use the subway system. I would 100% return to this hotel and would like to say thank you to all of the amazing staff.

Room Tip: high floor 2001 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JV-RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I am pleased to hear that my staff made your stay enjoyable...hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night for one night. Got a great deal on Priceline. One block from the subway station. Room was basically a king size bed and a bathroom with a nice flat screen on the wall. I just slept in the room which served its purpose. Very clean and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review my hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Comfortable, clean and well-located. I book a room here so as to avoid higher prices in midtown. Although you have to take subway to go to most major attractions the inconvience is small. Nothing to not like about this place.

Rooms are small but you aren't in NYC to stay in your hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review; hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We checked in two days before sandy hit the city... The hotel is a 3 star, and last year we stayed in the Hilton 3.5 stars that is a few blocks away... gotta say that is a HUGE half star! In comparison the Holiday Inn had a ridiculously small lobby, only two elevators, and the whole place seemed totally outdated. We Pricelined the hotel, so got a good rate otherwise would have felt we were overcharged.

Once the hurricane hit and we lost power (even up to that point) the staff was wonderful. The on site restaurant continued to serve food up to the moment power went out, and the staff at the front desk were helpful, and kind (even though many guests were rude (for some reason people took out their frustrations with the power outtage and such on the hotel staff)). Given the situation the staff did a wonderful job accommodating its guests.

Overall? Disappointed with the hotel, but impressed with the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and hope you are doing well. I appreciate your input in regards to my staff performance during the storm. We tried our best to continue providing the same level of service, and I am pleased to know that you were impressed with them. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'd like to be the first to review this place on how they manage during an emergency. Let me just say, I feel like they are family now after we've survived Hurricane Sandy together. My parents & I were evacuated to this hotel from the Water St location. The staff was unbelievably calm & positive during the entire storm & during the power outage. They literally worked non-stop since the evacuation process started - it was amazing to see the same faces night & day for 4 days straight. They opened their restaurant and served coffee, water and cereal for guests & people outside the hotel. Bottles of water would appear outside our door when we woke up. Trash was removed from the rooms every day even though it was chaos outside. They were committed to keeping all guests secure & as comfortable as possible & I am grateful to them for that. I hope all of the people on staff from that week get HUGE bonuses because they deserve it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilStreetE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, I cannot thank you enough for your kind words about my staff. Despite the adverse circumstances during the storm, they continued working together as a family. Thank you very much for your review and hope to personally welcome you next time you come to New York City. Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room was well laid out, clean, comfortable bed, quiet. Small hotel with not much of a view from many room probably but a good location for Wall St., South Street Seaport and the World Trade Center, Sept. 11th memorial. The front desk staff were friendly. There were 2 computers for guest use in the (tiny) lobby and another type of kiosk. There is a restaurant and room service, neither of which we had time to use. Check in and check out were very easy. Shampoo and soap provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanish_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review. we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#338 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#218 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#349 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#207 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#182 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financi...
#331 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street

Property: Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Address: 51 Nassau Street, New York City, NY 10038-4506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street Hotel New York City
Reserve Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing