We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Sweetest”
Review of Sweet Revenge

Sweet Revenge
Ranked #105 of 387 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: West Village
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not the Sweetest”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Okay place for breakfast during our stay in SoHo. Some items were better than others for this party of three. The Mexican Belgian Waffle was very good but the Eggs Benedicts were flat in flavor. Lots of cupcakes choices; my Malaysian Coconut was delicious and moist. A place to go once or twice if you are in the area but there are many other places there that I would prefer for breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bymollyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    22
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wish 3 1/2 was a valid rating”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

How can you not want to try a place that has a cupcake and wine/beer tasting menu? We had read about Sweet Revenge months ago and finally went in mid Nov. We had brunch on a Saturday. The place is small but very hip and trendy inside. The menu offered good selection and the Signature Belgian Waffles were delicious. There was a special of Red Velvet Waffles but I chose the Mexican Vanilla because I did not feel that adventurous. After breakfast we chose the Carnivale cupcake of Mexican Vanilla Cake, spiced apple filling and salted caramel frosting with a glass of Prosecco. The cake was a little dry and the frosting for me was too sweet and sugary. I would love to try a buttercream option if I find myself there again. All in all a fun concept and a nice place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you love cupcakes this restaurant is a must. Not only are the cupcakes the best in the city you eat them with a selected beer or wine. If you go no where else in New York you need to go there. The staff and the atmosphere are the best in the city. Give it a try you won't be sorry. Its in Greenwich Village. While you are there, why not start with Joe's Pizza just a few blocks from Sweet Revenge on Carmine St. Best pizza in New York. We started at Joe's Pizza then headed to Sweet Revenge for dessert. Both are delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladydiedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A little cramped but the food is worth it!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A few years ago we had seen the owner of Sweet Revenge on the Martha Stewart Living Show, and ever since then we had wanted to visit her restaurant. So on a recent trip to NYC we walked down to the West Village and found it fairly easily. We arrived at about noon on a Saturday and they were serving brunch. We sat at the bar, but with two large tables of people inside as well, the seating was a bit cramped. There were other small tables and seats by the windows, but our party of three found it to be the most comfortable at the bar. We liked the cafe atmosphere and the music choices were nice, but it was clear that our waitress was overwhelmed. She was the only one serving, and seating, and pouring drinks, and running orders to tables... but she did serve with a smile and apologize for any waits we experienced. Despite the wait, the food, drinks, and desserts we ordered were outrageously delicious! We went "savory" for our meal and ordered Eggs Benedict with a chilled Chai Latte, and also the Bacho & Verde (a Panini with avocado, bacon, and apples on it) and a side of roasted thyme potatoes- delicious! Then we went on the sweet side and ordered cupcakes paired with wine for dessert. We used the menu's pairing recommendations, and we each ordered a different cupcake. They were definitely big enough to share, so we each got to try some of the others. We loved the Crimson and Cream with the Raspberry Bellini the most, followed closely by the Sweet Revenge and the Fleur De Sel paired with an Argentinian Malbec. You can tell everything is made with top-quality ingredients and we were very happy with our choices. We were also full for hours afterward, so if you plan on having dinner reservations, leave several hours to walk it off like we did!
Other tips I would like to pass along would be to leave yourself plenty of time to visit Sweet Revenge in case of a limited staff (maybe it was just because it was the weekend or they were temporarily understaffed, because one in our party had been there a year ago and said she was served promptly). Another tip is to bring your appetite! If you go later in the day, be aware that the food choices are a bit more limited than at breakfast time. Finally, look online at the website (www.sweetrevengenyc.com) to get an idea of the types of cupcakes, offered but just know that they rotate the special flavors of cupcakes each day while always offering the original four. Overall our experience was great- it just seemed a bit understaffed. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineNDine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great end to our hols”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We made a deliberate effort to find this place and did not regret it. It is only a tiny shop but 4 of us sat along the bar. Each had a different cake and wine combo and all were raving about them. Cupcakes can be a bit dry or heavy but these were lovely and wine works well with them. I had the Armenian flower which had apricot and chocolate In it and was heavenly.

The staff were also very welcoming and chatty. Shame we found it on our last day as we would deffo have gone again but we will be back next time we are in NYC.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuck96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Revenge also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sweet Revenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing