We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little find...you must seek it out.”
Review of Sweet Revenge

Sweet Revenge
Ranked #126 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: West Village
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing little find...you must seek it out.”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My bridesmaids had scheduled a stop in this little gem of a shop for lunch this past weekend while we were in New York for my bachelorette party. DELISH!!! I split an avacado/bacon/granny smith apple wrap with one of my friends which was to die for. Then I had one of their signature cupcakes, The Dirty, which was a chocolate cupcake with chocolate icing and bittersweet cocoa dusted on top. They pair their cupcakes wine, beer, or a cocktail. Mine was paired with a red wine. Everything was so good. The cupcake was not overly sweet and the wine was just perfect with it. Everything is priced fairly, especially for New York City. You simply must go here. You won't regret it. The place is definitely small and can only fit about 20 people at a time so I would even recommend calling ahead and seeing how busy they are. But even if you do have to wait, it's so worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curlycueku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    22
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not easy to find but not bad once you get there”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Wanted to hit a bakery the other day and looked up what was close and this place popped up. Had a couple of the cupcakes, one was great and the other was meh.... Can;t remember the names so that should tell you how memorable they were. If you're standing close by this place then pop in, otherwise, don't put yourself out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodster117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonvile, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Where else can you get a delicious cupcake and a beer pairing. Such a great, fun, place!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vivi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cupcake heaven”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This place is awesome! All of my favourite things - cakes, wine and coffee. Gorgeous little place, lovely atmosphere and fantastic service. I had the signature Sweet Revenge cupcake - peanut butter icing - matched with a malbec. Delicious! Was tempted not to share for it to remain a secret find but it's too good not to mention!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the Edgy version of Magnolia Bakery”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

definitely worth a visit - it's like Magnolia Bakery for grown ups who don't need an overdose of sugary sweetness in their environment as well as in the cupcake you are eating.

Don't get me wrong the cubcakes were yummy and sweet and all the things you would expect of a New York cupcake but Sweet Revenge is decorated like a local bar (one you would actually like to hang out in) and each cupcake has a recommended wine or beer that you can order with it to take the edge off all that sugar.

A very welcome treat from the cold of February in New York

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickyse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Revenge also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sweet Revenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing