We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Mamma Mia! on Broadway - CLOSED

Mamma Mia! on Broadway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 30 million people all around the world have fallen in love with the characters, the story and the music that make MAMMA MIA! the ultimate feel-good show! Writer Catherine Johnson's sunny, funny tale unfolds on a Greek island paradise. On the eve of her wedding, a daughter's quest to discover the identity of her father brings 3 men from her mother's past back to the island they last visited 20 years ago. The story-telling magic of ABBA’s timeless songs propels this enchanting tale of love, laughter and friendship, and every night everyone’s having the time of their lives! With more productions playing internationally than any other musical, MAMMA MIA! is a Global Smash Hit!
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Poor is a rating for the standards of Broadway. If these were high schoolers, it would have gotten a very good. Huge Mamma Mia fan. Love the movie and have seen the musical in Minneapolis and loved it. This was the biggest disappointment of anything we did in the week we were in NY. The 2 women who played Rosie and Tanya were good but the rest of the cast were average or worse. The singing didn't match up with the music many times and the acting was off. It sometimes felt like they had just learned their parts 2 weeks ago. Broadway is suppose to be the best of the best. This was not. As much as I hate to say it I would not waste my money on this one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TMTAmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,219
    346
    110
    40
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun and energetic”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A great, high-energy show. You'll leave feeling happy.

The person I went with didn't even like ABBA... but by the time we got back to the hotel, he was queuing up all their hits to listen to as we got ready to go out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

loved this show from start to finish. gets everyone singing along and dancing. great atmosphere. worth every penny

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Amazing. Great music. Great performance. Great atmosphere. Makes you want to see the show again. Seats F 2-8 were great. A show that touches your heart!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPoloDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mamma Mia indeed :)”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked this show online, as it's one of my favourite films and was not disappointed. It was like watching the film again but "live". Loved the portrayal of the characters, the actors were brilliant and had amazing voices. It was very entertaining and you just had to get up and sing along, wave you arms around and dance like mad during the performance. It was totally worth it and i would definately go again to see it. The theatre was very comfortable and spacious with a bar, which came very handy, at the interval. You must make Mamma Mia one of the shows to see on your next visit to New York :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia! on Broadway also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing