We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serafina at The Time Hotel

Serafina at The Time Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
Serafina at The Time Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #976 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Broadway and 8th Avenue
Description: Serafina takes a very honest approach to Northern Italian food with only the highest quality ingredients. Serafina's Fabulous Pizza delights diners with a simplicity of recipe execution combined with creative and original Italian dishes.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
207 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Came in for breakfast, which was very expensive for the few breakfast items on the menu. Paid $15 for three kid-size lemon ricotta pancakes and $10-plus for a side of two eggs. Service was terrible and tardy. Only one waiter for more than six tables, who forgot almost everything...the sugar, the syrup for the pancakes, cheese on the side eggs. Wait forever to order and longer than that to get the check. Not recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ingedino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    155
    52
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent business dinner and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I scheduled our staff dinner at Serafina's last week and it was an excellent choice! The service was a tad slow, even though they were not that busy but the food was great and the overall experience very positive. We did dine here for breakfast and one additional dinner while in NYC last week, as we were staying at the Time Hotel.

Overall a good experience and I would return if at the hotel.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nhstargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another good meal at Serafina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We had another great meal at Serafina. The service was a lot better than last time there. I highly recommend the focaccia Sophia and the trio of pastas, both of these where excellent. We will continue to return here when we visit New York.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sbconsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This restaurant is fine if you happen to be in the neighborhood and need a place to eat or get a drink, but it's nothing special. Service is variable. I've had really good service and another time, felt as if the server was trying to rip me off. I had to question the bill and ask for an itemized list of charges. She then apologized and revised the total, but I never did get the list. So....I can't give it more than 3 stars.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank katdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very decent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were staying across the street at the Pearl hotel and needed a quick lunch spot, something with an appealing menu for 4 completely different palates. Serafina delivered in speades. The pizza for the table was excellent, but next time I would ask them to cook it a little longer, but that's our preference. The salads were great, the room was busy but not too loud, and the staff was quick and courteous. Not Pastis, but pretty good for the money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEDWARDRAZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serafina at The Time Hotel also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Serafina at The Time Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing