We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Loved it. But still not as good as the movie.

I had an amazing time seeing Anastasia the Musical. I grew up with the movie, and though not made... read more

Reviewed May 22, 2019
rinidamini
,
Midlothian, Virginia
Wonderful Entertainment

In Saint Petersburg, Russia in 1917 Princess Anastasia escapes an invasion of the palace by the... read more

Reviewed May 16, 2019
LouisM565
,
New York City, New York
Read all 266 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around New York City
from $56.35
More Info
from $39.62
More Info
from $81.70
More Info
from $67.81
More Info
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
198
52
9
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
198
52
9
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful costumes animated movie ramin karimloo broadhurst theater dowager empress broadway show russian revolution huge fan of the movie fairy tale stage door musical score set design story line great actors during intermission talented cast great seats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 266 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2019

I had an amazing time seeing Anastasia the Musical. I grew up with the movie, and though not made by Disney, the music and characters were amazing. The musical was slightly different and had a slightly different story (which I will not give away), but I really enjoyed it and I thought it brought a good historical aspect surrounding Russian History. The sets were beautiful and the music was amazing. Anyone who loved the movie should definitely see the play.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank rinidamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

In Saint Petersburg, Russia in 1917 Princess Anastasia escapes an invasion of the palace by the Bolsheviks. 10 years later two con artists (Dmitry and an ex-member of the Imperial Court named Vlad Popov) search for an imposter who they intend to groom to become Anastasia in order to extract the reward being offered by her family who now reside in France. During their auditioning Anya wanders in. The con artists are amazed by her resemblance to Anastasia and are excited that she has a memory loss. She is chosen to play Anastasia, and the trio proceeds to France. Anya is indeed Anastasia; the con artists refuse the reward particularly because Dimtry is in love with Anastasia.

One leaves the theatre not knowing if the story is fact or fiction, the songs were breathtaking, the singing was magnificent, the set designs were of the highest standard and the transition of them was seamless, the costumes were exquisite and perfect for the time period. Anastasia is a wonderful show that kept my attention throughout.

We saw Anastasia performed by a touring group. Their performance was comparable to that of Broadway. Many in the troop had Broadway experience.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank LouisM565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

This is by far the best show on Broadway. Storyline is gripping, uplifting and sad. pOpoff was brilliant. The old duchess was very good. Great scenes. Brilliant cast. A must d
See show.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank eddieprice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

I am not a big fan of musicals, but the wife and daughter are, so we all went. It was really enjoyable. The singing, acting, sets, costumes, etc. all were top shelf and very enjoyable. I really liked it and recommend it to others. It had the right mix of music, humor, and plot.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Roman611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Excellent.
Everything about it was wonderful; music,costumes, perfect casting.
We had so much fun. I was really surprised how much I liked it.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews