We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai 51 - CLOSED

Thai 51
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved It!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The place is small, but the food was excellent! Would return for another meal. Chef was very accommodating!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aleshia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was by far the best Thai food I've had in NYC.

And I've been to ALOT of places. Happy hour specials are nice along with the meal!

This is the first review I've written for any restaurant & highly suggest this place for a nice meal in a quiet setting.

The smallest places truly are gems!

(I had the vegetarian duck red curry - absolutely delicious)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Param S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

very tiny space, presentation on plates no imagination, shrimp with basil was more like shrimp in chili sauce, no variety of vegetables in dishes also not thai vegies, just onions, green peppers and slivers of brocoli.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at pod 51 and popped in here after Happy Hour. Service was good and food was great, we shared the spring rolls, pad Thai and they had a special of two beers for $5. Food was leftover the portions are big!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a pad thai and was served it within minutes. The dish was very tasty and light, and the portion was very generous and enough to fill me up despite my empty stomach. The restaurant is small but cosy with a pleasant atmosphere and background music. Make sure not to sit by the door during winter though! The service was efficient, though I got the the impression they were hurrying us out. Overall definitely a pleasant experience and I will make sure to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Lorrey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Thai 51 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing