We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #31 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

I have just spent 10 days at Chelsea Pines with my 15 year old Grandson. We booked the hotel last March for an August stay mainly based on Trip Advisor reviews. We completely endorse all that has been written - location, cleanliness, wonderful staff, quality of rooms, breakfast, peace and quiet, value, etc. We would definitely come again though next time I would pay a few more dollars to stay on the third floor, rather than the forth, in a larger room but still overlooking the garden - so my Grandson can escape my snoring!!!! To sum up we wanted to stay where we were welcomed and could relax and feel at home - that is exactly what we got.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfnutKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    304
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
277
1,061
251
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Racine Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

I am a planner ("obsessive" is the word my family might use). I wanted to take each of my three kids on a short trip to celebrate each of their birthdays. My older two chose cities I have visited before, so that was no problem. My youngest chose NYC, and the planning began three months ahead of our August departure.
His criteria: two musicals, great food, and interesting things to do. His best friend accompanied us, and her criteria, all that plus shopping (she loves thrift shops). I went back and forth between staying very near Times Square, with lots of "busy-ness" for the 16 year olds, or staying somewhere a little quieter for me. We all three loved Chelsea Pines Inn!
The neighborhood was excellent. There was so much to do and see within a short walk. The subway station is only 1/2 block away, so getting to other locations was a breeze. The best part, though, is the staff. They all made us feel so welcome, and there was not one sigh when I asked for directions or should I take the "A or E" for the tenth time. The restaurant recommendations were fantastic. The room was just big enough for the three of us, but who spends time in the room, anyway?
We were able to start slowly each morning with a wonderful breakfast in the courtyard. My son agreed that the choice for our stay was perfect.
We had an awesome trip, and I will cherish the memories made with my son. The staff at Chelsea Pines helped make this happen.
Looking for crowds, Starbucks, and meals at Applebee's or McDonalds? Then, this is not the place for you. Looking for charm and personalized care? This is your place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakemichiganmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

It is a warm and very personal hotel. Jay and his amazing team will make you feel special and rare. The rooms are personal with inspiration from films and stars. The breakfast is very good with good coffee, fresh fruit, bread and juice. The best is the small garden outside. There you can eat in the morning or rest in the evening. You are in the heart of Chelsea, with restaurants, clubs and The High Lane just around the corner. I would highly recommend this place, it´s a special little star in the jungel of hotels in New York. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden is very nice, and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedvig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

The staff make the Chelsea Pines Inn an extraordinary place to stay while in New York. Ramal is the best! The rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is very generous and tasty. The subway is down the block. High Line Park and the Chelsea Market are a few blocks away as well. As a tourist, I was always given help with my less than well-thought-out plans. Guests were even provided with umbrellas when it rained. Charlie Chaplin the cat also makes the Chelsea Pines Inn special. Definitely my place to stay while in New York City.

Room Tip: It is a walk-up so if you do not like stairs, choose a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lahernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Five days in New York, doing the 'must see' sights, was amazing and thanks to the authenticity of the Chelsea Pines the pleasure didn't stop once we had walked into the lobby each evening. The hotel was as much a part of our experience as Central Park and the Guggenheim were. Why experience 50% of what New York is all about when you can get 100% by including Chelsea Pines in your itinerary? You know you are in Manhattan when you are in the Chelsea Pines. And who doesn't love Charlie the cat?

Room Tip: A good range of rooms that suited our family's needs. The top floor suite worked well with our 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWB-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

My heart sank a little when the taxi pulled up in front of the Chelsea Pines Inn; it's quite ordinary on the outside. But as soon as I entered, I felt better. I was greeted with a warm, cheery smile from Ramal. He had me drop my bags and took me down the hall to a cozy refreshment area for a cold iced tea. A few minutes later, he handed me my room key and I began my ascent up 4 long flights of steep stairs. My room was tiny with a loud A/C unit and a leaky sink. It had a college dorm vibe. I slept fitfully but all was forgiven in the morning because of the wonderful breakfast that was served on a leafy outdoor patio. The location is great for all that is hip and cool downtown. It is my understanding that there are bigger rooms, which I'd love to check out-on the first or second floor!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

If you are looking for accommodation which is bland and impersonal and only caters for one type of guest then the Chelsea Pines Inn is not for you. Jay and his team made every effort to ensure we experienced the best of New York: in addition to the daily newsletter for guests detailing local restaurants, events and history, Al and Lewis on the front desk offered tips and advice that catered for our individual needs. There was even a party for guests to celebrate the beginning of Pride Week.....very good wine and food and a chance to meet a diverse range of travellers.

Breakfasts were fabulous...fresh berries, yogurts, juices, breads etc....and not overly sweet ( often a problem for visitors to the US) and tea as well as coffee. ....and the garden setting made it even more enjoyable. Our rooms were comfortable and well-appointed. Noise was not a problem. The only down side for some will be the lack of a lift....walking up 4 flights of steps is good for your health if you can do it...but would make staying here very difficult if you can't.

The location is fantastic. We were only steps away from the subway station which gave us easy access to all of New York....the High Line is only minutes away...As is Chelsea Market.

Room Tip: If you have access problems, ask for a room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing