We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #14 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a delightful find in NYC - now I can't imagine going elsewhere. The rooms were clean, great fun, and housekeeping was excellent. Breakfast is filling - you are properly fueled to explore NYC. Charlie Chaplin the cat is a charmer, and kept us company each morning as we ate in the pretty little garden. And (good!) coffee and tea are available all day, along with a sweet at tea time. The location is perfection! Close to all trains, and steps from the High Line, where we spent many happy hours.

But what was truly remarkable was the staff...I have never enjoyed such care and attention to our needs...whether we needed the quickest public transportation, thoughts on where to eat or to suggestions for a nearby shoe store!

Wonderful from top to bottom!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    291
    54
    12
    15
See reviews for
265
1,026
239
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here with my fiancée. Staff were fantastic - friendly, approachable and v efficient. Room while small was really great. Bathroom was spotless. Towels changed daily so lovely and fresh. Breakfast was superb - lots of tasty choices. Overall I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat (and will definitely stay here next time I'm in town).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn and we know why! Their greeting is "Welcome home" and this is exactly what we feel. To be specific:
Rooms: large enough, recently renovated, clean. Good mattress and sheets, excellent bath towels.
Shower: very spacious, working well.
Breakfast: Fresh fruit, different kinds of bread, cheeses, cereals etc. Garden.
Amenities: Complimentary homemade lemonade, espresso, cookies all day long. You can use the kitchen facilities, also microwave. Office with 2 PCs, a Mac and printer.
Team: Just lovely corteous and extremely helpful. 24 hours front desk.
Location: very close to Metro and Bus stops. 5 minutes walk to the High Line Park. Lots of shops, restaurants and galleries in the neighborhood.
In sum: We love Chelsea Pines Inn! Looking forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We wanted our NYC experience to be slightly less touresty and more intimate and individual so from the TA reviews we chose this boutique hotel and we were so glad we did. Its a lovely little place in a great location near the West Village and it has bags of character and charm with a very warm welcome. When we arrived we were greeted so openly, shown around and given lots of information, we were made to feel very much at home. All of the staff were always courteous, very friendly, helpful and interested in what you were up to. This is remarkable.
As a family of three our room was very cozy but we were very comfortable for our 4 night stay. We had everything we needed comfy beds, a TV, free WIFI, it was clean with the best and most powerful monster of a toilet we have ever experienced - excellent!
Breakfast is served in the kitchen, you can help yourself to a selection of delightful choices and then sit in the lovely patio garden to eat, watched by Charlie the cat (who I was tempted to kidnap).
You can help yourself to drinks all day and there is always a cake too! This is not good for the carb avoiders and indeed the waistline - the walnut cake being a particular favourite!
This hotel only complimented our fabulous NYC experience.
The decor is special and definitely not bland but could be perceived as tacky, although we enjoyed it. This is not luxury if that is what you are looking for and note there is no lift but its the charm of the place, the location and the exceptionally friendly staff that meant much more to us than staying in a more luxurious, modern but less intimate and bland hotel. We were also lucky to have a room on the ground floor but the staff are always there to help with bags so this should not put you off staying.
We will definitely return to NYC and we will stay here - we had the best time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We decided on the spur of the moment to go and see a show in NYC , as well as spend the day at the 9/11 Memorial and the new Museum.. After researching online we decided to try Chelsea Pines Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. Firstly we arrived at 9.30 am- our reservation was only from that evening. We explained that we were going sight seeing and could they keep our suitcase.. To our surprise - they made us feel so welcome.. They invited us to have breakfast and told us that someone was checking out early and as such we could check in early... We sat out in the back yard- a quiet,serene place .. We felt we were miles away from the hustle and bustle . Before our tea was finished we were told our luggage was in our room..each room is named after a movie Star- ours was Doris Day. The room had a comfortable queen size bed with crispy clean sheets.. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast was more than acceptable . The staff were amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.. They exceeded our expectations, and we will definitely visit again..just goes to show never judge a book by it's cover..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently got back from my second stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn, this time for six nights.

When I arrived in my room, there were some flowers and a hand written card welcoming me back. Nice!

The hotel's location on 14th Street was a perfect match for my plans for this trip to NYC. It's not too far to walk to various places in Greenwich Village (e.g. The 55 Bar or Comedy Cellar, two of the places I went to), and the nearby subway stations make it very easy to travel uptown or downtown (or to Brooklyn, as I did).

Thanks to Jay, Rumel, Louis and the rest of the excellent staff for another great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Chelsea Pines Inn is a gem. The owner, Jay, and the rest of the staff are extremely warm and welcoming, and extremely knowledgeable about all things New York. The location can't be beat--the neighborhood is safe, the Inn is just steps from the subway, and Chelsea Market and the High Line are just at the end of the block. The back garden is an island of tranquility in the middle of the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,117 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,021 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,180 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#22 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing