We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelsea Pines Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Soho House New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dream Downtown(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maritime Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Jane(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The GEM Hotel Chelsea(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The High Line Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chelsea Savoy Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,217)
Filter reviews
2,217 results
Traveler rating
1,740
350
80
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,740
350
80
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe high lineno elevatormovie postersgreenwich villagemeatpacking districtdaily newsletterrock hudsonbagelsnew yorkmovie starsflights of stairsevery morningsubway stationthe meat packing districthome from homefifth floorrestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 2,217 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently got back from my second stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn, this time for six nights.

When I arrived in my room, there were some flowers and a hand written card welcoming me back. Nice!

The hotel's location on 14th Street was a perfect match for my plans for this trip to NYC. It's not too far to walk to various places in Greenwich Village (e.g. The 55 Bar or Comedy Cellar, two of the places I went to), and the nearby subway stations make it very easy to travel uptown or downtown (or to Brooklyn, as I did).

Thanks to Jay, Rumel, Louis and the rest of the excellent staff for another great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Chelsea Pines Inn is a gem. The owner, Jay, and the rest of the staff are extremely warm and welcoming, and extremely knowledgeable about all things New York. The location can't be beat--the neighborhood is safe, the Inn is just steps from the subway, and Chelsea Market and the High Line are just at the end of the block. The back garden is an island of tranquility in the middle of the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeteStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything about the Chelsea Pines Inn was great. We had rooms at the front on the top floor, and despite coming from a quiet countryside village, we were not disturbed by noise from city. All the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and were genuine in their desire to ensure we had the best NY experience possible - Rumel deserves a special mention. The hotel booked us heavily discounted tickets to a Broadway show that only had a few expensive seats available on mainstream websites. Breakfast was a varied, plentiful buffet of high quality food and drink in a pleasantly informal setting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6Rowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We got welcomed by super friendly Lou who was very helpful as regards advice of places to see, from rooftops to restaurants or nearby cafes...
Perfect location, very nice place with super cool atmosphere...
Particularly loved the inner garden where we took our breakfast (reading Lou's excellent newsletter)... was really a cute place to stay, where you truly feel at home... in such a big city as NYC, what a luxury :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nonizukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

There are probably 4 main reasons why we particularly enjoyed our stay. 1. The staff, who are truly amazing. 2. The small but lovely garden in which to sit at breakfast and other times. 3. The snacks and drinks available in the afternoon (and at other times). 4. The location.

There were no real negatives except perhaps that it was a bit of a squeeze between the end of the bed and the wall. The 4 floors of walking up were not a problem for us seniors and it is made very clear that there is no elevator. It was very quiet at the back of the hotel.

We have stayed in New York City several times and this is certainly one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We would seriously consider staying again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms at the back are very quiet so long as you don't mind walking up.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews