We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #9 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We decided on the spur of the moment to go and see a show in NYC , as well as spend the day at the 9/11 Memorial and the new Museum.. After researching online we decided to try Chelsea Pines Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. Firstly we arrived at 9.30 am- our reservation was only from that evening. We explained that we were going sight seeing and could they keep our suitcase.. To our surprise - they made us feel so welcome.. They invited us to have breakfast and told us that someone was checking out early and as such we could check in early... We sat out in the back yard- a quiet,serene place .. We felt we were miles away from the hustle and bustle . Before our tea was finished we were told our luggage was in our room..each room is named after a movie Star- ours was Doris Day. The room had a comfortable queen size bed with crispy clean sheets.. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast was more than acceptable . The staff were amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.. They exceeded our expectations, and we will definitely visit again..just goes to show never judge a book by it's cover..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    284
    50
    12
    13
See reviews for
261
1,013
233
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently got back from my second stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn, this time for six nights.

When I arrived in my room, there were some flowers and a hand written card welcoming me back. Nice!

The hotel's location on 14th Street was a perfect match for my plans for this trip to NYC. It's not too far to walk to various places in Greenwich Village (e.g. The 55 Bar or Comedy Cellar, two of the places I went to), and the nearby subway stations make it very easy to travel uptown or downtown (or to Brooklyn, as I did).

Thanks to Jay, Rumel, Louis and the rest of the excellent staff for another great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Chelsea Pines Inn is a gem. The owner, Jay, and the rest of the staff are extremely warm and welcoming, and extremely knowledgeable about all things New York. The location can't be beat--the neighborhood is safe, the Inn is just steps from the subway, and Chelsea Market and the High Line are just at the end of the block. The back garden is an island of tranquility in the middle of the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything about the Chelsea Pines Inn was great. We had rooms at the front on the top floor, and despite coming from a quiet countryside village, we were not disturbed by noise from city. All the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and were genuine in their desire to ensure we had the best NY experience possible - Rumel deserves a special mention. The hotel booked us heavily discounted tickets to a Broadway show that only had a few expensive seats available on mainstream websites. Breakfast was a varied, plentiful buffet of high quality food and drink in a pleasantly informal setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6Rowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We got welcomed by super friendly Lou who was very helpful as regards advice of places to see, from rooftops to restaurants or nearby cafes...
Perfect location, very nice place with super cool atmosphere...
Particularly loved the inner garden where we took our breakfast (reading Lou's excellent newsletter)... was really a cute place to stay, where you truly feel at home... in such a big city as NYC, what a luxury :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonizukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

There are probably 4 main reasons why we particularly enjoyed our stay. 1. The staff, who are truly amazing. 2. The small but lovely garden in which to sit at breakfast and other times. 3. The snacks and drinks available in the afternoon (and at other times). 4. The location.

There were no real negatives except perhaps that it was a bit of a squeeze between the end of the bed and the wall. The 4 floors of walking up were not a problem for us seniors and it is made very clear that there is no elevator. It was very quiet at the back of the hotel.

We have stayed in New York City several times and this is certainly one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We would seriously consider staying again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms at the back are very quiet so long as you don't mind walking up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, I
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had the absolute pleasure of another stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn. The staff welcomed me like an old friend. My room was lovely and so comfortable.The daily breakfast is delicious and I so enjoy eating in the outdoor courtyard.The staff had a party for all the guests the day I arrived with wine and appetizers. I was able to meet guests from all over the world. Thanks to Jay and Troy and all the staff, they are so friendly and hospitable. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annefitz1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,929 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,060 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing