We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big birthday treat!”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #52 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went in March and the staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and I really felt as if they wanted my first trip to the city to be very special. The bed was especially comfortable and the room clean and spacious. The stairs are quite steep and there is no lift, but that didn't matter even after a long day of walking.
It was especially lovely to be able to help yourself to teas and coffees up until 11pm at night with usually some cake or other food to nibble if peckish. It really is an intimate hotel and located near to lots of restaurants.
I would definitely go back..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Pines Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Before we stayed at CPI the first time 1.5 years ago I asked a business partner and friend for a recommendation for a hotel in NYC.

He highly recommended CPI as a charming hotel with a friendly and caring staff, located in the meatpacking district, the place to be/stay when you are in NYC. What we experienced during our first and second stay exceeded our expextations by far.

The staff not only cared for us, they made us feel at home. We got recommendations for places to see like the Highline, for shows, restaurants and little shops and cafes.

The rooms are charming and quiet, every single of which named after a Hollywood actress or actor with movie posters hanging on the walls. We enjoyed breakfast inside or on the nice garden terrace between flowers and trees (from time to time togehter with Charly, the cute CPI cat, living in the hotel all his life).

The location of the CPI is phantastic. The entrance to the Metro is just 20 metres away, the area is not only packed with restaurants, bars and shops but also charming and safe day and night.

We highly recommend the CPI to all nice and open-minded travellers from all over the world who are looking for a charming non-standard hotel and staff and a stay to remember!

Marc & Deborah

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkymaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This place offers the best value for money in New York. The location is excellent, really near the subway and walking distance to many great restaurants and attractions. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and they provide great bath products. We absolutely love Jay (the owner), who is so friendly and helpful, and gave us good recommendations for restaurants and things-to-do around the area. He even lent us an umbrella for a rainy New York day and when we left in a taxi after checking out, he sent us out to the car and gave us a bottle of mineral water each for the journey. Such thoughtfulness and attention-to-detail are what distinguishes Chelsea Pines from a generic and conventional hotel. We would definitely stay here the next time we're in New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_from_SG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great location, great people, great premises; wonderful welcome to this most fantastic of cities. The welcome was very warm and the accommodation was certainly large enough and very comfortable. Breakfast was well prepared and tasted great. There was a great choice and the kitchen/dining area has a very nice conservatory/garden area.The staff couldn't do enough to help and make the most of my (all too short) stay but at the same time I felt I had all the freedom I needed to come and go as I pleased. The location was ideal for me, the neighbourhood is interesting, attractive and nowhere in the city is too far to travel with a subway station at the end of the block. I loved that Chelsea Pines is not one of those huge hotels, this is a much more personal experience and in a much quieter area than others you may consider. This was my first visit to NYC and I fell in love; I will be back and would certainly hope to stay again at the Chelsea Pines.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor and it's a walk up - if that is likely to be too much for you ask for...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cptmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My family and I spent six wonderful nights at the CPI recently. Thanks to Jay and his all-around excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff for all they did to make us comfortable and happy. We loved the Rock Hudson room, which was perfect for our family of three. Everything about the CPI was perfect for our needs, the location, the accommodations, the breakfast room, the spot on advice and, yes, even the hike to the 5th floor! You can eat your way through NYC and work it off at the same time. We are looking forward to our next trip and to seeing all the new friends we made at the CPI.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean more stairs but don't let that deter you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were very fortunate to find a last-minute reservation at the Chelsea Pines after many attempts. True to its rating, this 30 year old B&B is nearly perfect. Jay and his staff make one immediately welcome with thoughfulness and efficiency. Our last-minute booking in one of the smaller rooms revealed a spotless, cozy space remarkable for its completeness and efficiency of space. The breakfast area includes an eat-in sunroom adjacent to the back garden. The continental breakfast was excellent and reminiscent of our travels in Europe. We found our stay in the back of the hotel remarkably quiet considering the location right on 14th Street. A short walk to Chelsea Market, The Highline and all that the area has to offer, it is also very convenient to the rest of the city via the nearby 8th Avenue subway. Sure, there's no elevator. Yes, space is at a premium. But as the major hotels become more expensive, more impersonal and more interchangable, The Chelsea Pines is simply a gem.

Room Tip: We found the back of the hotel to be remarkably quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After first visiting the Chelsea Pines for our Silver Wedding in 2013, my wife Karen was visiting NYC with her choir for an exciting New York trip in April (unfortunately not staying at the Chelsea Pines). However my daughter (Polly) and I decided to visit New York to support the choir and of course we were going to stay at our favourite hotel! Polly had not been before but had heard all about Jay, his great team and wonderful hotel and was not disappointed in any way. We stayed in the George Nader room on the 1st floor which was lovely. As always the service was unbeatable, breakfasts were wonderful (Jay even gave me food parcels to take to Karen) and we want to go back already. My sister and her friend also stayed at the CPI and enjoyed it just as much as us.

Can't wait to go back, with Karen next time as well!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
877 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#158 of 468 in New York City
653 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#126 of 468 in New York City
3,566 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
685 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $264 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing