We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent - the only place to stay in New York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #24 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent - the only place to stay in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have just stayed in Chelsea Pines Inn for a 10 day holiday and have to say that this is an amazing place to stay in New York City.

Its location is perfect in Chelsea (very near Greenwich village) - there is a subway station less than a minute walk away. However apart from taking to subway to Brooklyn, I walked everywhere.

The rooms are immaculate and spotless and so quiet (I asked for a room towards the back - it might be advisable if you are a light sleeper).

The breakfast is served until 11.30 and there is a vast array of juices, cereals, fresh fruit, tea, coffee, pastries, bagels and breads available.

What makes this place really special is the staff. Jay and his team genuinely love what they do and it shows. Whether it's with suggestions as to where to eat, booking reservations for Broadway shows etc., nothing is too much trouble.

Thanks again for making my trip to New York so memorable - I will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor (4th or 5th) at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulH_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    296
    61
    14
    18
See reviews for
270
1,052
247
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just back from second stay at Chelsea Pines Inn . This time we stayed 10 days and even that was way too short.
There is nowhere else we will ever stay when in NYC and if getting a room means booking will ahead that's what we will do.
Everything really has already been said on trip advisor re this very special place we however want to add to the comments on the overall experience and staff.
How lovely to stay somewhere and at the end of the day to feel you are going home rather than "back to the hotel"
All staff here are amazing but this time we spent most of our time talking to Anna and Troy. Nothing wad too much trouble, genuine warmth and hospitality shined through.
Jay is as ever so welcoming and fun to talk to. Ramul, Lewis and Al were always happy to see us , give advice and have a chat. Providing such high level , personal customer service cannot not be easy at times but the genuine love of their city and joy at sharing it with visitors shines through. Jay sure did great in choosing those who would represent his business on a daily basis with much warmth and caring. I know a place / experience has been great when we do not want to leave and yes tears on leaving and all the way to airport yet again (sorry Troy) but already planing when to return.
Thanks to all , you shine...... Please give Charlie a hug for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was a little afraid that my expectations would be too high after reading all the wonderful reviews of this place. But CPI delivered exceptional service with an awesome location and clean, comfortable rooms. I came with my 15 yr. old daughter to be a tourist and see some great theatre. When we walked in around dinner time, we were a bit travel worn and Troy gave us the quick low-down on how the hotel works (breakfast, room cleaning, etc.) and we met Charlie Chaplin (the cat!) and he suggested a couple places for a nice, affordable dinner and made reservations for us after bringing our bags up the four flights of stairs.

Being theatre geeks ourselves, we loved that the rooms are all themed after classic movie stars. We loved our room...Deborah Kerr!! And although it was small (we stayed in a standard/single) it was plenty big enough for the two of us. I don't know the name of the British chap that was there most of the time we needed something, but he was so helpful and always made us feel like a little part of the family when we needed subway, theatre, or restaurant advice. Even the guys who clean the rooms were super helpful and made us feel welcome.

The location was perfect. Literally right next to the subway (14th street is a main stop which means the express trains stop there so it's hard to get on the wrong train!) The Greenwich Village area is a treat to walk through and they provided us with a map of local shops in the area that we really enjoyed discovering.

We will never stay anywhere else in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itiselaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wow, what a find. A cosy warm friendly and welcoming place. Totally opposite to the impersonal reception of a typical large chain hotel. Chelsea Pines is like a second home. So ideally situated right in the hub of The Meatpacker District and a short walk from Soho and Greenwich. We were in the Rock Hudson room at the top and it was lovely. Jay the owner was so friendly and helpful as were everyone there. Definitely a place to go back to!!

Room Tip: Rock Hudson top floor with 2 beds and a large bathroom. Who can resist Rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn before and will always stay there when I go to NYC. It is absolutely the most comfortable, clean, and welcoming place to stay in Manhattan! Right near the subway, Chelsea Market, Greenwich Village, and in a wonderful neighborhood, this hotel always offers a delectable breakfast, comfy beds, great computer room, and truly friendly, knowledgeable staff. But beyond the basics: my partner and I were married at the Chelsea Pines Inn this March, and Jay and his staff went above and beyond to make everything absolutely perfect. They had roses and delicious chocolates waiting in our room, and then they brought us a wedding cake, champagne, and more flowers right after the ceremony!! And when the airlines almost ruined our wedding by bumping our best friend and witness (she couldn't make the ceremony), Jay actually stepped in and served as our witness!! (Talk about the perfect host!!) The ceremony truly could not have been any more perfect!!! Thank you, everyone, at the Chelsea Pines Inn!!! You are all such sweet, wonderful, amazing people!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect as far as being quiet. Some are smaller (so it is best to ask when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

A great place with wonderful staff!!!! The rooms are really original with archival movie posters and extraordinarily clean! All staff members were friendly and personal. You always leave knowing you have new friends!
The breakfast is second to none ranging from fresh fruit to wonderful pastries and breads....We were provided a private area on the glassed-in porch for several hours so we could have a small wedding ceremony...IT WAS PERFECT!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I just got back from another visit to NYC and stayed at my favorite place---Chelsea Pines Inn. The minute you walk in the door you feel like you've arrived at home. Troy, Al, Jay and all the other wonderful staff greet you with a friendly hello and how was your trip. They always have the best recommendations for new places to eat and the hottest thing on Broadway. Rooms are comfy and the continental breakfast has lots of options. If you want the perfect place to stay next time you visit, NYC, this is definitely it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#63 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Giraffe
#4 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing