We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #26 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Assuming you are not looking for a cookie-cutter hotel in Times Square, there is nothing bad to say about the Chelsea Pines Inn. Clean rooms and common areas, wonderful service, helpful staff, great breakfasts to start the day and a nice location. We didn't use the subway, but if it's not within walking distance (and, really, there's a lot to see and do in CP's neighbourhood) there is nowhere to get to that's not more than a $10-15 cab ride away. The suites are fine for a small family, if you want separate sleeping areas. And if it's suggested that the bathrooms are small, the trade-off is a good shower and big fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Check the website to know where your selected room type is located. We got our suite on the third (r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McGillparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,650
    302
    64
    15
    18
See reviews for
274
1,058
249
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend went to NYC for the first time, and chose this hotel based on reviews. I actually proposed to my girlfriend there and lovely Jay and Anna prepared amazing breakfast for us and made our stay an unforgettable experience! The area is also one of the best in NYC for food and drink, even if you are staying somewhere else in the City you will go back to the neighbourhood in the evenings. We are definitely going back to the City and we will definitely stay in Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myszolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stay overnight in NYC several times during a month and when our usual hotel was booked, we were eager to try a highly rated TA recommendation. We stayed for several nights and we were frankly disappointed with the cramped room (the Albert Finney) and being awakened very early every morning by staff preparing the kitchen. I love the location, but you can find better accommodation in NYC for the money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank GoneOutNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in New York City in March 2014 and it was the best holiday we've ever had. And thanks goes, in no small part, to Jay and all the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn.

Think of the accommodation itself as a fine European hotel, quirky and wonderful, impeccably clean, serving up a terrific breakfast and snacks throughout the day, located in the perfect part of the city (Chelsea and Greenwich Village, a few minutes subway ride to the theatre district, Times Square or Central Park or wherever you want to be, pleasant walking all around the neighbourhood and The Highline Park and Chelsea Market are right at the doorstep).

And then let's add the service... What can I say about the service that hasn't already been said? Let me just say this: everyone there is extremely knowledgeable about the city and its delights: the theatre, the restaurants, the transit, the boroughs, the off-the-beaten-track sights, the restaurants, the music, the restaurants, (did I mention the restaurants?!!) They know their stuff and they're generous with their knowledge and their time. And most importantly, they truly enjoy helping to make your stay a perfect experience. In a word, Jay and all the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn are this: they're genuine.

I recommend Chelsea Pines Inn strongly and whole-heartedly. Stay there; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I read the reviews on TripAdvisor before making my reservation and it was everything and more than expected. We were looking for a low key place to stay during our daughter's Juilliard audition and this was the perfect spot! My husband traveled with my daughter and they just loved the "at home feel" of the Inn. Charlie the cat was a wonderful addition to their stay. My daughter and husband commented on how clean the Inn is and they really enjoyed the breakfast and coffee.The Inn was a short subway ride to Manhattan which made for a stress free audition. Thank you for the kind hospitality you extended to my family!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBrain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chelsea Pines is in a killer location near the highline, Chelsea and Greenwich. We walked pretty much everywhere. Friendly hotel with clean and functional rooms. Not glamorous but very nice. No lift so ask for a 2/3 floor room. Long walk up higher than that!!!!!!

Room Tip: Floors 2 and 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

As most reviews will tell, the hospitality of the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn is impeccable. They really set the standard for customer service. They will do anything for you with such a good attitude and vast knowledge of the city.

My two cents about the stairs: you only walk up the stairs about once or twice a day because you will be out in the city as you're not staying in an all inclusive resort all day long, do not worry about your bags they will gladly carry your bags up and down the stairs, and if you have a problem with a few flights of stairs then NYC is probably not the place for you.

The cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding, and the location is great because Chelsea is a nice neighborhood and you are steps away from the subway. Of course, if you're looking for something in Times Square then obviously you would not consider it a good location, but hopefully you have the intellect to understand that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgar156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#61 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing