We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #56 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Assuming you are not looking for a cookie-cutter hotel in Times Square, there is nothing bad to say about the Chelsea Pines Inn. Clean rooms and common areas, wonderful service, helpful staff, great breakfasts to start the day and a nice location. We didn't use the subway, but if it's not within walking distance (and, really, there's a lot to see and do in CP's neighbourhood) there is nowhere to get to that's not more than a $10-15 cab ride away. The suites are fine for a small family, if you want separate sleeping areas. And if it's suggested that the bathrooms are small, the trade-off is a good shower and big fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Check the website to know where your selected room type is located. We got our suite on the third (r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McGillparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend went to NYC for the first time, and chose this hotel based on reviews. I actually proposed to my girlfriend there and lovely Jay and Anna prepared amazing breakfast for us and made our stay an unforgettable experience! The area is also one of the best in NYC for food and drink, even if you are staying somewhere else in the City you will go back to the neighbourhood in the evenings. We are definitely going back to the City and we will definitely stay in Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myszolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stay overnight in NYC several times during a month and when our usual hotel was booked, we were eager to try a highly rated TA recommendation. We stayed for several nights and we were frankly disappointed with the cramped room (the Albert Finney) and being awakened very early every morning by staff preparing the kitchen. I love the location, but you can find better accommodation in NYC for the money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank GoneOutNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in New York City in March 2014 and it was the best holiday we've ever had. And thanks goes, in no small part, to Jay and all the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn.

Think of the accommodation itself as a fine European hotel, quirky and wonderful, impeccably clean, serving up a terrific breakfast and snacks throughout the day, located in the perfect part of the city (Chelsea and Greenwich Village, a few minutes subway ride to the theatre district, Times Square or Central Park or wherever you want to be, pleasant walking all around the neighbourhood and The Highline Park and Chelsea Market are right at the doorstep).

And then let's add the service... What can I say about the service that hasn't already been said? Let me just say this: everyone there is extremely knowledgeable about the city and its delights: the theatre, the restaurants, the transit, the boroughs, the off-the-beaten-track sights, the restaurants, the music, the restaurants, (did I mention the restaurants?!!) They know their stuff and they're generous with their knowledge and their time. And most importantly, they truly enjoy helping to make your stay a perfect experience. In a word, Jay and all the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn are this: they're genuine.

I recommend Chelsea Pines Inn strongly and whole-heartedly. Stay there; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I read the reviews on TripAdvisor before making my reservation and it was everything and more than expected. We were looking for a low key place to stay during our daughter's Juilliard audition and this was the perfect spot! My husband traveled with my daughter and they just loved the "at home feel" of the Inn. Charlie the cat was a wonderful addition to their stay. My daughter and husband commented on how clean the Inn is and they really enjoyed the breakfast and coffee.The Inn was a short subway ride to Manhattan which made for a stress free audition. Thank you for the kind hospitality you extended to my family!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBrain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chelsea Pines is in a killer location near the highline, Chelsea and Greenwich. We walked pretty much everywhere. Friendly hotel with clean and functional rooms. Not glamorous but very nice. No lift so ask for a 2/3 floor room. Long walk up higher than that!!!!!!

Room Tip: Floors 2 and 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

As most reviews will tell, the hospitality of the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn is impeccable. They really set the standard for customer service. They will do anything for you with such a good attitude and vast knowledge of the city.

My two cents about the stairs: you only walk up the stairs about once or twice a day because you will be out in the city as you're not staying in an all inclusive resort all day long, do not worry about your bags they will gladly carry your bags up and down the stairs, and if you have a problem with a few flights of stairs then NYC is probably not the place for you.

The cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding, and the location is great because Chelsea is a nice neighborhood and you are steps away from the subway. Of course, if you're looking for something in Times Square then obviously you would not consider it a good location, but hopefully you have the intellect to understand that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgar156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 469 in New York City
924 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#155 of 469 in New York City
668 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#134 of 469 in New York City
3,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 469 in New York City
740 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#42 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $182 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing