We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mont Saint Guibert, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Third time in New York for both and first time at the Chelsea Pines Inn. If you go there notice that the staff will do anything to please you, the house is ideally located, breakfast and cookies at 4 pm are both excellent. Feeling like returning home after a long day of sightseeing or shopping. In addition, we received nice gifts as we were there celebrating a birthday. Thank you to all the team and of course to Charlie

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isa476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    322
    74
    18
    20
See reviews for
287
1,077
265
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Posted my first review of the Chelsea Pines Inn last year, and I can verify that the rooms, service, value and location are still outstanding. A fun, human-scale place to stay in a potentially overwhelming city. Delightful, all around! I'll be going back.

Room Tip: There's no elevator; so if mobility is an issue, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This inn is well kept. It is clean and updated. Staff is extremely helpful. The kitchen area supplies a snack, water and coffee/tea 24hrs for free. We had a superior room which was very small but comfortable. It is a walk up, we were on the third floor so stairs may be an issue for some. Although they do have rooms on the ground floor. The staff took our luggage up to our room and also down the day we left. Kudos for them! I will stay here again. Thank you for making our trip pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were not disappointed with our stay at the Chelsea Pines. We came in with high expectations and they were exceeded. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with excellent suggestions on things to do and places to eat. My wife fell in love with Charlie (Chaplin) the hotel cat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickwick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As the previous reviews state, this place is just fantastic. Though what I really believe sets Chelsea Pines apart is their service and attention to detail. Jay, Rumel and the rest of the staff here really just can't do enough to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. From restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. Also, the morning breakfast spread is just delightful and fresh as can be. If you are considering staying in the West Village/Chelsea area, Chelsea Pines is a no-brainer, just book it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amp3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Jay and his team went out of their way to make me feel at home and cared for at the Chelsea Pines. One couldn't want more friendly and thoughtful service. And they were very helpful guides to the district and New York in general. My room was small, but clean and comfortable - in fact the most comfortable bed I experienced in almost a month traveling in the USA. Bathroom also small, but modern and clean. Very good included breakfast, with homemade breads and lots of fresh fruit. Snacks and drinks available in the breakfast room any time. Well located near several subway lines and the wonderful Chelsea Market. Just a note for the less agile traveller - there is no elevator and the stairs to the top of the house, where I was, are very steep. But I would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse as a great place to stay in New York, and I am hoping to have an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: If you are not good with stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor when you book, as there is no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place justifies every bit the rating Trip Advisor has given it. I would recommend it highly and with absolutely no reservation. Great folks and a great place in the heart of NYC. Just stay there - no need to research any further

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svaradaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 467 in New York City
847 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
648 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#124 of 467 in New York City
3,545 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#85 of 467 in New York City
621 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#120 of 467 in New York City
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing