We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Coming home to Chelsea Pines Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #26 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coming home to Chelsea Pines Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

When I knew I was coming to New York in November (to attend the wedding of good friends), my first thought was to go to the Chelsea Pines website and make a reservation. Unfortunately, the website told me that there was no room at the inn, so I decided to call to see if there was something that could be worked out. Rumel answered the phone and remembered me from previous visits -- we'd had some nice chats in the cafe while he went about his work, so we'd become acquainted -- along with his colleagues, he worked out a plan for me to stay all 5 nights if I was willing to hop around a bit. At Chelsea Pines, that can be fun because each room is distinctive -- so I had 3 different experiences in one trip! (And the staff takes care of moving a guest's luggage, so I just had to pack up. No big deal.)

One of the best parts of the day is breakfast time -- the kitchen/cafe area lends itself to conversations with other guests sitting at nearby tables, and the breakfast spread itself is enormous -- nearly anything a person could think of to get a good healthy start to the day. I took advantage of the business center (located on the 2nd floor) on this trip, too -- what a handy place to check email, do some work, and print out materials.

Why anyone would go to a chain hotel in New York (or anywhere) when there are places like Chelsea Pines Inn to come home to is a mystery to me. For me, there's only Chelsea Pines.

Room Tip: If you want to work in your room, you might let them know that so you get a room with a desk area. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    300
    64
    15
    18
See reviews for
274
1,057
248
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was our 4th or 5th visit to Chelsea Pines and each time it feels like coming home!!! This must be the best place to stay in NY. The location is perfect. But this place is unique because of the warmth of Jay and his team and the atmosphere they create in this guesthouse. Jay is surrounded by the best people in the business (Troy, Al, Anna, Rumel and of course the cat Charlie!!). Every time when you come 'home' after a trip in the city it feels as if your new family is waiting for you and you can have a nice chat. They have great ideas for show tickets. We saw 'buyer and cellar' with Michael Urie (ugly betty) and the show was great!!!
Our room was a superior deluxe room on the third floor and the room was great as well. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast is great every morning.
I have said it before and will say it again. There is no other place to stay in NY!! You must go to Chelsea Pines when you stay in NY and you want to have the best possible time.
Thank you very much and we cannot wait to return to see you all again!! Miss you already.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We had our favorite family getaway in NYC, and at the heart of it was Chelsea Pines Inn. What a surprise to find this sanctuary! Everyone who works at the inn is kind, knowledgeable, gracious and generous...Troy, Rumel, Anna, and all the wonderful staff. Owner Jay makes a point to meet and talk with the guests. The rooms are polished, modern, immaculate and so comfortable. The breakfast has something for everyone, with also snacks and beverages set out throughout the day...so appreciated. Outside the doorstep is an exciting area to explore, and with the subway steps away, we did not use a cab the entire time. It was wonderful to return to the warmth of a home-away-from-home at the end of the day. We will always return to Chelsea Pines when we are in NYC!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Everyone at Chelsea Pines inn was super helpful and nice from the get-go. Louis greeted us upon check in and it was lovely to hear a familiar accent!

The location of the hotel is unbeatable, being just a 1 minute walk from the West 14th street Subway and a variety of convenience stores and restaurants within throwing distance.

Jay was lovely and offered us umbrellas to help us stay dry in the NYC drizzle. Charlie was also very hospitable, making himself at home on our bathroom floor mat and snuggling up to us one night on our bed!

The only thing I could have done without were those staircases. After a while I got used to them but my mother had more of a difficult time. These stairs are narrow and HUGE and we had to climb up 3 of them to get to our room (thank God for Louis carrying our suitcases up and down for us).

We will be back here for sure. Thank you to everyone who made us feel at home and for our Charlie mugs!! We drink out of them every morning :)

Room Tip: If you're elderly or unfit, take a lower level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0zoneX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

For New York, this was a good choice in many ways. We would stay here again.
The location is great because it is close to a lot of subway lines, the Highline, and the Village.
Breakfast was good, the room was better than OK (great for NYC at that price, I guess) and there is a nice relaxed vibe and very helpful service.
My only complaint is that when we arrived after a long trip we had to wait to check in for at least 10 minutes because the clerk was talking to another guest about area restaurants, etc. I felt like they were trying too hard to be uber-helpful to everyone, at the expense of just giving us the key so we could chill out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn. I really recommend this hotel, from the moment we arrived and all through our stay everyone was so friendly and kind. The hotel is stylish with old movie posters throughout, each room is dedicated to a former film star. Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished - for WiFi and telephone calls in the USA and Canada there is no charge. For breakfast there is a good choice of tasty food, fresh home baked bread each morning, and to my delight a Nesspresso coffee machine. Each evening we ate in local restaurants recommended by the hotel. The movie stars on the posters aren't the only stars at this hotel, Jay (the owner) and all his staff are also stars. By the way Jay thank you for the umbrella, I'm now back in London and needless to say it's been used quite a lot. This was the first stay at this hotel and I would certainly go back again, it's far superior to any of the chain hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We enjoyed the New York part of our honeymoon at Chelsea Pines sooooo much. We stayed 6 nights & all the staff are so helpful & friendly & Charlie the cat is a special bonus!! We loved all the recommendations for nearby restaurants & enjoyed fabulous meals as a result. I don't think we'd have been so lucky if we've tried to find them ourselves. The guys really made our stay in New York so so special. The hotel is in a great location & the subway is very close. Breakfast is great & It's lovely to come back in the afternoon to make tea & have a cookie or muffin from the kitchen. Nothing is too much trouble for the amazing staff & they truly are the best asset of the hotel. I highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne27Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#63 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#55 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#60 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing